#NeedleworkMonday: A Tree Grows In San Bernardino

20181008_202155-ANIMATION.gif

Continuing on with last week's silk and bead doodling--
https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@creationofcare/needleworkmonday-beading-for-its-own-sake
--this shade tree emerged from its charmeuse silk circle with the point of view I have when seated beneath my own shade tree in the morning, looking upwards-- to where the branches truncate the perspective.

20181008_201341~2.jpg

I figured out what my direction is with this open-ended textile playtime. I am making a crazy quilt background, with all of these circular remnants forming vignettes of my own garden.

20181005_192814~2.jpg

Last week, I completed the fish pond. This week closes with the top of a tree I planted some 15+ years ago pointing a tendril into the great beyond.

20181008_203421~2.jpg

I am very eager to create discs featuring my hens, the blue jays, hawks, and finches, not just all of the generous plants cultivated in this garden. Perhaps even some silk representations of mantids, bees, and other invertebrates that make a microcosm healthy.

For now, I am busily transforming slim, tapered, waste scraps of silk into beggar's cloth.

20181008_202239-COLLAGE.jpg

This technique is known as "Strip Quilting", which sounds WAYYYY more risque than it is.

Simply put, you sew together two long strips lengthwise, press open, cut a fresh straightedge, and repeat. When you square off the patchwork with a rotary cutter, wow! It looks like I meant to do that!

20181005_142613~2.jpg

I just kept halving it one way and reattaching it the other way until I ended up with 28" x 2" pieced ribbon to insert.

Now, I am practicing serious dissociative trance states by learning various crazy quilt border stitches.

20181008_204759~2.jpg Embracing my inner Cretan (stitch)

And so, while this ends my transmission on the topic of #needleworkmonday for now, I still sit here, busy at my work table, surrounded by silky remnents, shreds, beads, and threads.

Love,cat

@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Thanks so much for this!

I love how you combine quilting and embroidery :)

Thanks! Crazy quilts have always mesmerized me with all that detail.

Congratulations @creationofcare! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Wow, I really appreciate you including me in your curation! That is such an honor. May #needleworkmonday continue to gather momentum!!!

I am so intrigued by how this is coming together! The beautiful shades of greens, blues, browns and pinks compliment each other well. I love how you are having fun, free styling and making a beautiful art picture out of textiles. Is it challenging for you to work with silk? The tree and the pond it’s all so beautiful ~

Thank you for sharing this lovely painting of silk with us. I’m so curious to see the finished result now! 😃😍

Thanks so much for your comment! I have a bin full of silk remnants from various commissioned pieces from a few years ago. They tend to collect into colorways naturally, maybe I will do a post about my stash. I am a total sucker for luxury textiles and fine materials! I feel such sensory bliss handling fine silk, it just has a soulfulness that synthetics lack.

I am so happy that you enjoy this unfurling silk garden! It is gathering a certain urgency inside me.
Blessings!

This is growing into something very special. I still love the harmonius (blue/teal) colours. And these stripey sewing technique - wow. It looks so beautiful.

Thank you. It feels so relaxing and peaceful. I like how you said it is "growing", that is def how it feels. Cheers!

this looks so cool! I've been working on a cross stitch with instructions for ages and even find that difficult hahaha. Can't wait to see the finished product!

Oh yeah, I have started yhose in the past and set them aside unfinished every time! Instructions use some other brain state, I believe. Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11