Needlework Monday - Brooch butterfly. Tutorial. Handmade from @elenka

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

Hi, Steemit!!!

Greetings dear readers! With you @elenka



I propose today, together with me, to create a beautiful tender jewelry made of polymer clay - a butterfly brooch. Such brooch will decorate any image and will cheer you up!


Tools and materials:

  • polymer clay
  • blade
  • several needles of different sizes
  • dotsy
  • scalpel
  • stacks for sculpting or toothpicks
  • tile as a work surface
  • metal base for brooches
  • acrylic paints
  • dry pastel
  • tassels
  • barb line

I painted butterfly wings on a leaf and cut out a pattern.

I mix pieces of white and coffee plastic. I knead well in my hands and roll out the layer on the largest thickness of the pasta machine.

Using a scalpel, I cut out two details of a future butterfly.

I roll a small sausage in my hands and attach it to a tile - this will be the body of a butterfly.

Then I attach the lower wings first, and then the upper ones. All joints are carefully worked dotsom. It is necessary that the parts are well attached to each other.

Next, I begin to draw the texture on the wings with a needle. First I use a large needle for this, and then a thin one. So it turns out the original pattern.

The next stage is toning. Dry brush apply pastel blue, blue and purple.

The body and head of the butterfly were covered with a little flock (finely cut pieces of wool), which glued liquid plastic onto the gel. This coating gives the butterfly more realistic.

Antennae made of pieces of fishing line, the ends of which dipped into the gel, and then flock. I tried to insert them deeper so that they would hold well.
After that, black acrylic paint put points on the wings of a butterfly and draw the entire contour.

Put on the wings a little silver eye shadow, for shine.
I send the butterfly to pre-bake for 10 minutes.

Now make out the reverse side and attach the metal base pin.

It gave texture with a toothbrush, and then tinted with a dry powder of olive color. After that, the brooch is baked again for 20 minutes at a temperature of 100 degrees (the time and temperature of baking should be viewed on the packaging of the polymer clay from which you sculpt).

The butterfly is ready to fly !!!
The size of the brooch is 6 by 3 centimeters.

Thank you for your attention!!!

#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille

Sort:  

I didn't know that you can first paint it and then bake it. For some reason always thought it was the other way around :) Every day is a school day..

You colored it beautifully. I like that it a little bit sparkly as well :) The shape of the butterfly is nice and the details is good too..

Well done! Thank you for sharing and have a great start of the week!

I am very grateful to you for such a review, @delishtreats !!! It's nice that from my article you learned something new))) Thank you very much!
Wishing you a wonderful day and more joy!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much!!!

Cute looking butterfly! I like the blend of colors. I think this type of skill would also suit making decorations on a Christmas Tree and miniature sculpture sets.

Thank you very much, @adamada!!! I'm glad you liked my work)))
Have a nice day!!!

Congratulations @elenka! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

NWMlogo.jpg

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Thank you very much!!!

Great post, a like the step by step photos
Thank you for share

Posted using Partiko Android

And thank you for reading, @tahiaarq !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99