Needlework Monday. The stitching continues!

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Last week I outed myself as a keen crocheter.

Today I am sharing this week's creations.

PSX_20180507_134738.jpg

I learnt some crocheting basics several years ago when I was a nurse.

Working in psychiatry is unlike other nursing.

Talking and spending time getting to know people, really listening and finding out about who someone really is, that is the privilege of mental health nursing.

While often it is incredibly busy, occasionally I was able to spend quality time with clients on the ward.

I was taught to crochet by several amazing people who were inpatients at the time.


At the moment I am sick myself.

I have returned to crochet as part of my own recovery from illness. For distraction, occupational engagement and a sense of achievement.

I am grateful to the clients who taught me.

Not only because crocheting is awesome, but because as I do it I recall the courageous woman who taught me.

They painstakingly taught this slow learner to stitch. The true gift however I am understanding more now. The lesson of humility, strength, determination and bravery which they demonstrated when they were in treatment.

I think about them, when making a simple hat tires me and brings on a bit of pain.

I thank them in reflection as I stitch.

For teaching me about the human ability to just keep going, keep trying, keep believing.

Holding on to a little hope.

Recovery is as much about the set backs as it is triumphs.

That's what I would tell them, and that is what I tell myself as I continue to take on small tasks each day.


I continued on from last week's first ever hat.

Building off the headbands that I recall learning at work, with great fondness. I had a very patient teacher.

Once again I am without a willing human subject to model my creations.

But Teddy is back and he brought Babbity his rabbit friend along for support.

PSX_20180507_134932.jpg

PSX_20180507_135055.jpg
Some of these designs are a little experimental. 😂 But I'm having fun...

Perhaps you can note that the bands are distinctly knitted rather than crocheted?

I must disclose that these are a collaboration with long time knitter @bluerinse.
My hands and neck do get very sore. My 70 year old mother and her lightning needles put me to shame. It is definitely a collaboration in my favour.

I think I like the ribbed band on the yellow beanie. Some of the others are a little wacky. The purple one is knitted squares stitched together then trimmed with crocheted stitching.

PSX_20180507_135858.jpg

My mum.

She is known on steemit for her knitting after she made scores of beanies for the kids at @schoolforsdg4.

PSX_20180507_140742.jpg

This piece is not yet finished.

I followed half of a tutorial and put it aside.

PSX_20180507_135211.jpg

I have some ideas though...

PSX_20180507_140337.jpg


IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

Hiya. Well done on outing yourself as a crocheter :D

That's a wonderful backstory you have and it's so heartwarming to read about your patients and how they also gave something back to you.

I wish you well with your recovery. Crochet has been one of my favourite therapies for years. I started as a kid and have been hooked ever since :)

Lovely job on the hats. They look fun and colourful to wear. Also, kudos to your prolific mum. Wow! So many hats!

SIGNATURE.png


Hi @girlbeforemirror, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Fiberartists on Discord or view it live on the Steem Star Network.

Thanks, that's very kind of you.
I have had so many crafting pursuits (with varying degrees of success), over the past couple of years. It is amazing how they keep me going during otherwise empty days.
I have a goal to one day be competent enough at something that is also marketable. For now I'm just sharing both the fab and fails. I had some funny fails, I should do a compilation of fails.
A decorative wall hanging with bead work and two bells, comes to mind . I hung it on the lounge room wall. My husband laughed and said, "What's the deal with the beans and frank. " Then there was no denying the appearance of the phallic creation, that incidently spelled out hope in beads. Oh... and the ghastly wrapped bangle. Also hideous and included the beaded word Hope. Let's hope she never crafts again maybe.

Here is the post about it. 😂 I can't believe it was only 5 months ago. It's cool to reflect on actually, my crocheting is definitely better than my beading. I hope...
https://steemit.com/life/@girlbeforemirror/i-m-all-out-of-spoons-and-have-very-little-to-show-for-it

I still have Cam moments, but now we just hold up the work and call it, A costume for a cat. I laugh a lot more often about it than I cry.
200w.gif

Hi. A big greeting and my wish you recover very soon. Your publication reminded me of my sister, she was a health professional, a medical oncologist surgeon, and I fight with a patalogia, and in six years that her illness lasted, she dedicated herself to knitting, she said it was her therapy and she maintained it very well. I like your work: Thank you for sharing your life experience translated into threads. A big hug to your heart.

Wow, that's a cool background on how you learned to crochet. I imagine your teachers would be proud of you should they learn that you've taken it up yourself

That's a good set of new hats you're making, teddy is becoming a fashion model haha

Happy #needleworkmonday , i remember you introduced me with the tag and helped @WomenEmpowerment to get visible to related audience. My dad also 70 years old and she is now hospital . Right now i am at hosital since last night and soon leave for school. Though i feel tired, but your post made me strong. I feel happy when i see you are sharing something. The handicraft work looks amazing. Say hello to your mom and hope she will get some time to write post often here.

This post is very inspiring! I read about what you have experienced through another post and about how you are in recovery now. You are truly a strong and brave soul. It is very touching how you learned crochet and I think it’s amazing you are using it to help you get through this time. I did a post about the health benefits of crocheting, it has helped me with a lot of stress and just to calm my nerves.

I love that you added crochet trims to the knitted hats and your hats are turning out nice. Experimenting is how we learn quite a bit.

I think it’s so sweet and generous that your mom knitted all of those hats for @schoolforsdd4! I support what @azizbd is doing for those children as well as the mothers and daughters of @womenempowerment. It is really inspiring that he is using his time and own resources to fund these projects.

I wish you healing, strength and tremendous recovery to come~ 💜 Thank you for sharing with us.

Your story is beautiful and inspiring. Needlework is indeed therapeutic and healing and we make new friends along the way, all for the love of craft. Thank you for sharing with us. The beanie hats look really cute on Teddy and Babbity 🙂

I am happy you have turned to crocheting and knitting as a way to heal, @neumannsalva also wrote a post on how it has helped her as well.
Basically I believe doing something with your hands and seeing it come out nice gives us a sense of fulfillment that uplifts our spirits and strengthens us. I wish that you continue to recuperate.
Your lilac and purple hat is my favourite plus you've added a new model lol! good !
And your mum at that age doing so much hats for those cute little kids how cool and kind hearted is that! She is definitely an example in graciousness. I love the hats you collaborated with her to make. She is amazing. Nice work you guys☺

I am glad you found crafting helpful. I think it is such a good technique to cope with pain, anxiousness or feeling down (I speak from experience - sadly)
And the story how you learned to crochet is touching and uplifting on the same time. I love your headbands and the beanies are great. But I think the rabbit loves the beret the most :-D He looks very cool on the last photo.
I wish you a relaxing crochet time (and if possible, recovery) <3

nice creations even for animals. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86