A Challenging Sewing Project: La Luna Hobo Bag [ENG-IND]

image

Hello my dearest friends,

Long time no see. I’ve got several sewing projects I’d like to share with you. But this time, I want to show you my favorite bag, a hobo bag. When I finished this bag, I kinda thought that I should give it a name, so I called this bag ‘La Luna Hobo Bag’. ‘Luna’ means moon. It’s just because the shape of the bag is kinda round like a moon (eventhough it is not fully round).

Halo teman-teman semua, lama tak jumpa ya. Saya punya beberapa proyek menjahit yang ingin saya tunjukkan ke teman-teman semua. Tapi untuk kali ini, saya akan kasih lihat tas favorit saya yang baru saya buat yaitu tas model hobo. Saat selesai membuat, saya kepikiran untuk kasih nama, dan ketemu nama ‘La Luna Hobo Bag’. ‘Luna’ sendiri artinya bulan karena kalau dilihat, tas ini bentuknya bulat mirip bulan, meskipun bulatnya tidak sempurna sih.

The idea of making this bag was because I had this pair of handles that I bought 2 years ago and I had no idea what I was going to do with it. I then remember I once made a bag using this kind of handles and it turned out very pretty, well at least to me.

image

Ide membuat tas ini datang saat melihat gagang tas yang saya beli dua tahun lalu dan saya tidak tahu harus diapakan gagang ini. Lalu saya ingat pernah membuat tas memakai gagang serupa. Tas yang menurut saya cantik bentuknya.

image

So I tried to find some fabrics which matched with the handles, and I got this woven fabric. I immediately cut it out and then afterwards just realized that I should have cut it the opposite direction so it looked symmetrical. Oh no! I only had 0,5 meter fabric and I had no leftover. The incident made me stop the project and tried hard to figure it out. After a couple of days I decided to use plain dark brown fabric for the main body, and the woven fabric for the pocket and gusset. The woven fabric easily frays, so I had to give it a fusible interfacing.

image

image

Lalu saya mencari kain yang sesuai dengan gagang coklat ini, dan saya menemukan kain tenun ini. Tak menunggu lama, saya langsung potong-potong saja kainnya dan setelah selesai baru sadar harusnya saya memotongnya dengan arah yang lain agar terlihat simetris. Padahal saya Cuma punya 0,5 meter kain. Insiden ini membuat saya berhenti dan berpikir keras bagaimana menyelesaikan proyek ini. Setelah beberapa hari akhirnya saya putuskan untuk menggunakan kain coklat polos sebagai badan utama, dan kain tenun untuk kantong dan gusetnya. Kain tenun seratnya besar dan gampang terburai, makanya saya harus melapisi dengan pelapis pellon.

image

Making this bag was very challenging because 40% of it had to be done by handsticth. To combine the outer and inner parts, I had to stitch the upper part by hand because it is very difficult to do it using a sewing machine. Plus, the handles had to be sewn by hand too. I spent a few hours to do it. My fingers started to hurt.

image

Membuat tas ini sangat menantang karena 40% diselesaikan dengan tangan. Saat menyatukan bagian luar dan dalam tas, saya harus menjahit tangan bagian atasnya, demikian juga dengan gagang tasnya. Perlu berjam-jam untuk menyelesaikannya sampai jari-jari saya mulai sakit.

image

image

When the bag was finished, I felt relieved. It turned out well, I think. It has a roomy space, measuring 36x36x10cm. What do you think? To see more of my sewing projects, kindly check my instagram @bellobello.crafts.

image

image

Saat sudah selesai, saya lega, hasilnya cukup bagus menurut saya. Tas ini muat cukup banyak barang, ukurannya 36x36x10cm (tidak termasuk gagang). Bagaimana menurut teman-teman? Oh ya, tas ini masih available. Kalau teman-teman mau, silahkan kontak saya di WA 081328648920, harga tasnya 350ribu. Dan untuk melihat hasil jejahitan saya yang lain, sila cek instagram saya @bellobello.crafts.

Please follow @horazwiwik

Sort:  

Cantiknya. Harga sebanding kualitas barang. Apalagi ini bikinan tangan.

makasih pak @dsatria. Iya, betul. ini buatan tangan yang ga ada kembarannya soalnya saya ngga akan bikin lagi yang persis seperti ini :)

I think it looks great and quite advanced for someone like me @horazwiwik.

Thanks @cryptocariad, it really takes a while to be able to sew a proper bag, I may say :)

Wah lucu banget ka @horaswiwik

Masama ka. Seneng deh bisa lihat karya kaka lagi hehe

hahaha, iya @gethachan. Menjahit ini kerjaan nyantai, jadi ya sesekali bisa posting begini :D

Wah keren banget ka bisa jahit. Padahal buka bisnis aja ka hehe

yoi @gethachan. sy juga nerima order kok, tp sebatas sy bisa aja sih...ga nerima yg susah2 hahaha

Wah keren ka @horazwiwiq hobbi yg menghasilkan uang hehe

It's beautiful. I honestly think the solid brown with your pattern for accents turned out great! Thanks for sharing your process!

Thank you very much. I totally agree with you. The small incident brought a blessing, the final result turned out to be very well.

Wow your work always amazes me!! This hobo bag is Gorgeous! I love the colors you chose, they match the handles just lovely. I can imagine how your hands felt after hand sewing those handles on, that’s a lot of hard dedicated work. It is so professional and well crafted together, your work is Wonderful!

Thank you so much for sharing this week! I always look forward to seeing your projects~ 😊

As always, thank you very much for your lovely comments, @crosheille! I immediately fell in love with this bag once it was finished, I hope whoever buys this bag will be deeply in love as much as I do :D

Oh I’m sure they will! 💕

Excellent job! You did a great job! You have a very unique, cute purse to use now!

Thank you very much @violetmed! Yeah, I am super happy that the bag turned out very unique. I will not make the very same bag again in the future, so this one is definitely 'the one and only' :D

Your bags are just wondeful, @horazwiwik! I love the brown one with the two year old handles. LOL. The textured fabric is just gorgeous! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thank you very much @crystalize! Hahaha, I am glad I no longer feel guilty for not making anything with my 2 years old handles :D

Congratulations @horazwiwik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47