10-29-18 Needleworkmonday- Cabled Headband

20181028_143826.jpg
When planning to work on a cabled piece during a road trip... remember to track down your cable needles! Using an alternative option may not always work out...

But I managed to find a replacement and am happy with my progress on the headband.
20181029_172652.jpg

I am using the pattern called Cable Knit Headband from Ravelry:
Www.raveley.com/patterns/library/cable-knit-headband-2

It is very simple and easy to memorize. Which is important when on a road trip. We went over to Helena, MT for a Halloween party. I was dressed up as a Tourist and had a blast interacting with the colorful natives I encountered. (Me and my friend Kip had some standout costumes!)
20181029_172745.jpg

And thinking of colorful... the yarn below somehow ended op on the counter when I was picking up @lordvdr's new felting kit...
20181029_172706.jpg

I am looking forward to making these into something fun!

Happy Needlework Monday!

Sort:  

Very inventive, look forward to seeing the finished headband ... as for that gorgeous yarn that jumped onto the counter ... lovely!

It’s looking great so far, very pretty choice of yarn color! I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of seeing cable work, it is just simply beautiful. love your costumes!! 😄

Thank you! I love how the yarn is shading. Cables are so pretty!

Your headband will be gorgeous!! I love cables, but I still did not dare to try them. I would love a cardigan with small cables besides the buttonband, hmmm I have to learn.
And your costum 😍😍😍 Did you made the hat yourself? It is amazing!
Looking forward to projects with the new yarn (especially the darker one, I love the color combo)

Cables, especially simple ones like in the headband are Really Easy. You have to try it. The pattern is 7 rows and repeated indefinitely. Check out the ravelry link.
The hat was a lucky thrift store find! Someone had donated it and I got lucky and got it for very cheap. The rest of the clothes were all from the same store and very cheap too. I got SO lucky. And they are all comfortable enough to go into regular rotation. Just not normally going to be paired together. :)
The dark yarn is for a scarf that a friend has wanted for a while. She either wants to make it herself, or I will surprise her with the finished project next spring.

Wow, such a hat in a second hand shop, this is really luck. Sadly we have only super boring thrift stores here, less garments more old furniture. But not too far away (a nice trip for a holiday) in Nijmejen is a amazing thrift store...
And with the cables: i am a coward :-D This twisting and fumbling... sigh. But I will dare it in near future. A headband is a good idea (actually I already made a headband with a kind of cable, the head band had one twist in the middle. But I found it tough to understand ...)
https://www.ravelry.com/projects/Sommerfell/knit-101-headband

Trust me. This cable is much easier than that one!
http://annaknitsetc.blogspot.com/2013/11/anna-knits-cable-knit-headband-pattern.html?m=1

3 stitches move
Only 3!
Cast on 18 stitches
Round 1: K6, P6, K6
Round 2: P6, K6, P6
Round 3: K6, P6, K6
Round 4: P6, K6, P6
Round 5: K6, P6, K6
Round 6: P6, K6, P6
Round 7: K6, P6, K6
Round 8: P6, slip 3 stitches to cable needle or double pointed needle and hold in the back, K3 from the left hand needle, K3 held in back from the cable needle or double pointed needle, P6

Repeat rounds 1-8 until your headband is long enough
Join ends.

Doesn't every bad horror/crime movie start with the words: Trust me? :-DDDD
But joke aside: thank you so much for the pattern. Right now I have too many wips, but I am honestly willing to learn cables and your pattern will be a good start. <3

My mum didn't use cable needles, @jamethiel... Unfortunately I never really paid attention to her technique and as she doesn't knit any more... I would just have to improvise too 😄
I like your costumes - I'm a tourist wherever I go 😄

It is fun to tourist everywhere you go! I get so much more pleasure from my home town by exploring it as though I am tourist.
You can use any needles to hold the cables but I have found cable needles work very well for me.

The yarn is way cool. Love it.
You guys do have great costumes.

Ooooh - shiny! I love multicolored yarn!

And your cablework is beautiful. I have to admit it's so far the only knitting technique I hate. This fumbling with the cable needle - nope, not for me :)

I don't mind cables, I would rather do them than lace work or complex stuff. A simple cable is fun in small amounts. I'm excited about the yarn!

Oh no, snapped in half? I'm glad you found something to replace it! Me too, I would grab anything like pen, pencil, chopsticks. When the creative mode is on, no one could stop us! :) Look forward to those happy colors yawns too!

I searched everywhere I could reach after it broke and couldn't find anything to work. So I ended up carefully using the end with the eye to hold the stitches. That worked but was not ideal. So glad to be home and have the correct needles now. :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Gorgeous you, the yarns oh my! nice color...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98