Adult Crocheted Slippers - One Down, One to Go

Last year, I crocheted three pairs of adult sized slippers or booties. I wear them often and they are holding up very well. I toss them in the laundry just like I wash my socks. I did not put a leather or rubber sole on them because I am used to walking around in socks in my house without slipping. If you do tend to slip or fall, then you can add some strips of hot glue to the bottom of your slippers. Hot glue strips shouldn’t come off in the washer.

Since I have been stuck at home not feeling well, I have worked on several projects that I can do while resting in bed. I decided to make another pair of slippers last night and I have already finished one. I can crochet a lot faster than I can knit so the other slipper will be finished today as well.

27FAD191047B4F65A26308638572C9C1.jpeg

I started off making this slipper from memory and then I had to reference my old post from last year as a refresher. The yarn that I am using is by Lion Brand and is named Homespun Thick & Quick. It is a super bulky yarn that has a boucle type of feel to it.

4CDED468901D45EBAC339278EA127B62.jpeg

I was watching a movie while I was crocheting and didn’t realize how large the slipper was for my foot. I had to take a few rows out so that I could make the slipper smaller. It is harder to count stitches and rows with all of the bumps and curls in this yarn, but the end result is so fluffy, warm and cozy that it is worth it in the end.

9F6BF854A6DA48278464057B4455EBCC.jpeg

The pattern consists of double crochet stitches in the round “in a circle” until you reach the front of your ankle. Then you chain two stitches and turn your slipper around to make an opening. You go back and forth without joining your work until you have enough work to fit around your ankle. The sides are then joined by slip stitching them together inside out.

AF99C1D58A024E80B73F811A8E848536.jpeg

This is such an easy project to complete that is is very suitable for beginners.

I’ve included a link to the silent video that I watched if you would like to see how the slipper is made. It’s short and sweet if you already know how to crochet.

Have a wonderful day!

73878E36F25742A0B6F6DA56F7C1D696.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected and you have received an upvote from the Steemitmamas community account. Thank you for contributing great content!

This is a curation initiative supported by the @steem-hodler tribe

20180516_002249_0001.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 65000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01