The Ultimate Sweater Machine - Trial Run

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I took the time to set up a knitting machine to familiarize myself with its function and features. Now that I can knit by hand, using a knitting machine is so much easier than the first time that I used a knitting machine. I know now and can recognize stitches that may have dropped, tension issues, and how to change colors. I am excited about the possibilities because I have a large supply of all different types and colors of yarn. Having a machine to cut down on my time means that I can tackle more advanced projects that involve a lot of yarn and time.

umxsuiej2i.jpg

I started off using a ball of brown worsted weight yarn that I had handy just so that I could practice making a large swatch. The process was so easy and went so quickly that I kept going. I eventually stopped though because I didn't want a plain brown scarf and it is summer time right now.

After I assembled the machine following the instructions, I had to clamp it to a flat surface with a square end. I had to add a board to the top of a small table that I wanted to use so that the machine would be level and sturdy.

lnmn33fkiy.jpg

My other knitting machine has a tension hook mechanism. This machine does not have that external hook wand which makes it easier to maintain proper tension.

The instructions require only working on 50 needles. I had to add a "hem" and some elastic thread to the needles to start off. The hem has some metal rods inserted in some vinyl that keeps tension on the working fabric.

tylhh1u7j2.jpg

This is my first knitted row. The black vinyl piece is the hem and the white that you can see in between the brown yarn is elastic thread that is connected to two clothes pins on the side.

v3fwq4kj59.jpg

The hem is placed on the needles first, then the elastic thread, then you start knitting by sliding the carriage over the needles in the working position.

I added some yellow waste yarn at the end, so that I could easily pick up the stitches and bind them off without having to do it on the machine.

viug2t3vf7.jpg

I discovered that I dropped two stitches on the right end, but I know how to pick them up now. I am not sure what I am going to do with this sample swatch yet. I'll figure something out.

I am excited about the possibilities once I go through all of the last steps. I need to pick up my stitches and bind off the top and bottom of the sample.

p691b4sbrg.jpg

Have a wonderful day!

![25a0c5f9jb.jpg]( It may end up being a small hat.

p691b4sbrg.jpg

Have a wonderful day!

![25a0c5f9jb.jpg](

p691b4sbrg.jpg

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Wow what a nice trial run! I loved seeing the process of what you did. It’s really neat how you can recognize these things now after taking time to read about knitting and practicing it. I look forward to the many things you will be knitting with this machine ;)

Is this a new machine or have you had it for awhile now?

It is new to me. I bought it several years ago for my daughter-in-law because she took up knitting and made me a scarf. She is a young mother with a small baby and a toddler with no time for knitting right now. Since I am knitting now, I asked for the machine back along with some mohair yarn that I had bought in France years ago. I will make better use of the machine since I have time to use it. She didn’t mind giving it up and I even offered to buy her a sewing machine instead but she doesn’t have time to sew either. I can make various and sundry items for her and my grandchildren now. 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I read your post but the machine is still a mystery to me...😮 How does it change tension or stitches? I hope I will have a look at such a machine in real sometime, as this is so intriguing. Your knitted swatch is so neat, and going fast for bigger projects would be very helpful (can you already estimate how long you need for example a 40 x50 cm rectangle?
And I remember the @akipponn was interested in purchasing a knitting machine..... (@akipponn: have you bought one already?)

Hi @newmannsalva. The machine has 100 needles. There are several youTube videos on how to increase, and decrease stitches. The machine has different positions for working and non-working needles. This 46 second short video illustrates increasing.


This video illustrates decreasing.

The tension is handled by the carriage. As long as you have plenty of yarn loose, then the carriage moves freely.

I can easily knit a blanket in an evening. I did my knit sample from this post in a matter of minutes. I have seen some people complaining about this machine, but so far it is working for me.

Wooooooow I am amazed, so fast!!!! I am not sure if these machines are not common in Germany or just in my circle of friends. I remember that we have more needleworkes here who use machines and it is fascinating how many divers systems there are.
But the speed... Oh sigh, now I am also dreaming of such a knitting machine.
Thank you so much for the explaining <3
Do you have projects in mind? I saw this artful blanket on Ravelry today, but a blanket would need so much time.... but with a machine ...
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/intarsia-mountain

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts! Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us by visiting our FAQs.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

I really don't get it at all... well I had never been in front of a any machine like this.... I like how its your work made true this..
Thank you for share I found your post in needleworkmonday feature post...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99