Throwing Pots on a Wheel

It's #needleworkmonday and I have been busy with my pottery wheel class. Today was the first day, and I had to recall techniques that I learned over twenty years ago. I was able to center my clay on the wheel and come up with two different shapes. The shape below is my final shape that I settled for until I can practice more. I actually had to use my "needle" tool while making this shape so I figured that I could still post using the needleworkmonday hashtag. 😃

nqp8us6e3l.jpg

I had to wedge the clay first on a board, then shape it into a ball. I slammed the clay on the wheel and then worked on centering the ball until I could stick my finger in it to manipulate it into a shape. I first started off with a vase shape. I took it off the bat and then started over. This is my final product that I ended up with after two hours. I'll work on something else next week.

bpsa94cr1f.jpg

I am going on a brief holiday tomorrow to Niagra Falls. Canada but some of my plans are falling apart at the seams. 😕

Maybe things will clear up in the morning. I will be traveling with two other people so things have to be coordinated. Have a great evening.

25a0c5f9jb.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Neat needle project and have fun at Niagara Falls!

So many uses for needles :) Enjoy your time away, hope it all works out.

I have never worked with a pottery wheel, but imagine it to be difficult. And its amazing how even your plate/ small bowl is. It seems your fingers remember how to work with clay.
I hope you have a wonderful holiday at the Niagara Falls.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87