Almost There

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

I've been working on the sweater for the whole month of January. Luckily, the submission date has been moved up once again. Now it is February 5th, and I think that's pretty firm. I still need to finish the wrist bands and weave in all the ends. Also, I am not sure about closures. When I put this on, it hangs nicely, so I'm not sure if anything is really needed. A belt, perhaps? I will leave that decision until later. I really need to step away for awhile and come back with fresh eyes.

IMG_2567.JPG

I left all the loose ends out, so I could unravel, and I'm glad I did. I needed to pull off the sleeves and reknit them from the armholes. I think it will take hours to weave all those threads into the garment!

IMG_2568.JPG

Sort:  

These colors work so well together!

Thank you @fiberfrau! I know you have a great sense of color, so it’s good to hear that from you. 🙂

This has turned out so amazing. It is beautiful, the colors work so well together and the pattern looks so intricate. You have done a great job pulling this together.
Where are you submitting it to?
No closure looks fine, alternately, some kind of simple wooden toggle buttons might look cute.

I really do think your idea of a toggle might work for the sweater. Thanks @jamethiel!
The show is here vashoncenterforthearts.org/the-koch-gallery/
It's a group show featuring people in the community that work in fiber.

Your sweater looks really beautifully made and so so evenly knitted.
I can sympathize with the weaving of the threads at the end, it can take quite a bit of time...

It may be so evenly knitted because I used a knitting machine for the body. The bands I did by hand, and they took me so long to do! Still, a lot more hand work awaits me. 🙂 Thanks!

At the end of the day it doesn't matter whether it's machine or hand work, as long as it looks great on a person who's wearing it!

Ye, the finishing part can be a bit hard...
All the best with it!

Beautiful job! :)

Thanks @lightsavior! I’m taking a break from it for a few days. Then I’ll dive back in and finish it up. 🙂

Do you want to remake the sleeves? Are you uncomfortable in them? I like the sweater as it is without buttons. the belt is very well suited

Thanks! I remade the sleeves about a week ago. I think I’m probably going to keep it simple. @jamiethiel suggested toggles. I’m going to try just one or two.
I also was thinking about ties, but I think over time they’ll stretch out the bands.
I appreciate your input because I am still needing to make those decisions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45