An Ott Light

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

My local thrift store has some great finds, but maybe I should bring my phone with me to comparison shop. I bought an Ott light there for 25 dollars, but it seems this particular model is discontinued and is currently selling for around 40 dollars.

Still, I've wanted one for some time, and it seems to do what I want it to do.

Here's a photo of a scarf using the light:

IMG_2602.JPG

And without the Ott light:

IMG_2603.JPG

Now, I won't have to hang my work outside to photograph it! Well, most pieces anyway. It's a pretty small light. I am excited to get true colors inside.

I haven't done much needlework. The sweater I made for the juried show is due at the gallery on February 25. I have little things to do to it, but one thing about the sweater bothers me. I've had a break from the project, but still don't want to look too closely at that section. Ultimately, I will be happy if this sweater ends up being mine, so I'll focus on that thought.

The scarf pictured is from years ago when I spun yarn a lot. Sarah Anderson dyed the merino/bamboo/nylon top. She's the author of The Spinner's Book of Yarn Design. While she was writing that book, I was fortunate enough to take a class with her.

I spun the wool and chose a pattern to preserve the color changes in blocks.

https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/dianna

If I wash and block it properly, I do get an effect similar to the designer's vision.

Sort:  

Interesting to see how much difference that light makes, @kimmac. I also always have 'lighting' problems with my photos : the colours are seldom true to real life :D
All the best with that lovely cardigan ! and thanks for the link to the pattern.

Thanks @cryptocariad! I’m feeling slightly better about the cardigan.

Congratulations @kimmac! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments. Your next target is to reach 400 comments.
You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful yarn and pattern to make with it! And the new light brings out the colors very well! How lucky to take a class from the writer of that book, I am certain you learned a lot!

Yes, Sarah really knows her stuff. I haven’t been keeping up with her because I’m not spinning, but she also designed these cool patterns. I would run across her at spinning events and get to see her design process. Very inspirational!

Yes, taking good photos is difficult, especially in winter. I always wonder what the neighbors are thinking when I wander through the garden looking for a place to take a photo (see my post from last week's NeedleworkMonday).

I love the pattern - might be great for a scarf, too, with only two or three "leaves" in a row... Went into my favorites :)

So glad you like the pattern! When I knit it, I needed to read notes somewhere to clarify. I can’t remember if they were linked from the pattern or were in the forums. It’s an easy pattern and fun, just was a little confusing for me the way the initial pattern was written. 🙂
I saw your sock with a leg in a tree. 🙂 I love the colors! I know how hard it is to take pictures of socks on feet outside. It can be acrobatic.

Is that what we call a daylight light? You've just reminded me that I have one of those in my cupboard. I need a lamp for it! Lovrly colours in the scarf.

I don’t know. They sell Ott lights at art supply stores and needlework shops, but I think the daylight light is worth trying for photos. It might work. I like the way you think. 🙂

I have never heard of this lamp but the difference is amazing 😮 I mostly take my photos directly below our kitchen window, but with the shutter down to avoid shadows (the shutter is made of folded white paper)
The scarf you made is beautiful 💕

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @neumannsalva! I can see by your photos that your kitchen window works well. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78