My Haphazard Approach

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I have to get a garment together for a local group show. At least, I knew I was going to make a cardigan for an adult.

IMG_2523.JPG

First, I dyed some skeins of eggplant and pink that knitted out in long color repeats. I made some mitts a while back with a similar palette that utilized a background of bright blue, so I thought that might work pretty well, but I needed a third color. I fooled around by combining my two colored skeins with whatever I happened to have on hand.

IMG_2506.JPG

A possibility!

IMG_2505.JPG

No!

IMG_2504.JPG

I'm intrigued now. I want something like this, but not so dark.

IMG_2510.JPG

The pink scared me, and my friend was really afraid of the green, but we were relieved when we saw the first pieces. The orange is not a part of the garment. It's holding live stitches because I want to wait until I'm further along to decide on the design of the bands.

IMG_2519.JPG

Still tentative, but moving along!

Sort:  

I always admire you dyed yarns. I'm still in the "I'll definitely do it, already bought some colors" stage...

Perhaps we should make a dyeing challenge here for Needleworkmonday ;)

Thanks @muscara! I would love a dyeing challenge!

I like the mixing of the different colours to find the combination you want. Is this machine knitting?

Yes @shanibeer! I might do the bands by hand.

Wow! Nice design and colorway, I love the blend of colors...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @jurich60! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it works out. Now I have the front done too, so now the sleeves!

The colors are all amazing and the final garment with the flower pattern is super beautiful. I have no idea how much experience in dyeing is needed to get such predictable colour combinations and to know how they will knit up. Just wow.

@neumannsala, I never really know how the color or pattern is going to come out. Still, I am not sure of the final result until I see it. Thanks for your kind words! Let’s hope that I make the right choices with the sleeves and the edgings. 🙂

Wow! You are talented @kimmac! How pretty. I love that green and purple contrast


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I just love colorwork. The green takes the design from safe to wow, I think.

Oh thank you @fiberfrau! I do like to push it with colors.

Wow! That is such a great set of colors!

Thanks @jamethiel! I hope to keep a good balance of colors as it grows. Time will tell. 🙂

Your design is amazing. Love the green with the pink. They really sing well together. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank you @allyinspirit! I hope to post a photo of the finished sweater next Monday, so we’ll see if I can pull it off.

Interesting design. I like seeing the sketch, and then hopefully the final product.

If all goes well, I should post a photo on Monday. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70