Slightly Sloppy Socks

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

Sloppy because I made them a little too big through creative mathematics. Still, I like them so much that I wore them two days in a row.

IMG_2623.JPG

I did them on the machine. That's why they're done so fast. There is a seam though. These never bother me, but still, I shy away from making this type of sock for other people.

IMG_2629.JPG

There is a way to do them without the seam, but it is too fussy for me. Maybe, I'll tackle that technique in the future.

Sort:  

You shouldn't be so hard on yourself, they look great! 👍

What a nice color combination! I like it a lot :)

And done with a knitting machine!!! I did not know that this is possible, but I have generally no clue about these machines ... You will be my informer, if you buy one :-)

I look forward to seeing what @akipponn does with a machine too! 🙂

Homemade socks are the best!🥰🧶

They really are! That's all I wear! 🙂

They look great! And quite comfortable!

Thanks @jamethiel! I really needed a fun project after that sweater.

I like the contrast colours. Sloppy is good when you want to wear two pairs!

Thanks @shanibeer! I hadn't even thought of wearing 2 pairs together! These would definitely work for the second layer.

Lovely! I love the colour change in the main yarn and the contrast with the heels/toes/cuffs.

It was fun to be playful again! Thanks! I think I overthought the project before this one. That one did make it into the show, and they displayed it very cleverly, so I breathe a sigh of relief. It does make me realize how caring too much how others will react to something I make is not helpful at all.

The socks look super nice and this seam would be no problem for me :-D I am curious how you made socks on a knitting machine?

Thanks @neumannsalva! I was thinking about how I haven't done a how to post or a tutorial in a long time, so showing the process of knitting a sock on the machine is a good idea.
For me, the seams are imperceptible while wearing them. I know some people have sensitive feet though.

I love these happy and colourful socks, @kimmac.

My sister-in-law has made socks on her flat bed knitting machine with the seams like yours... I saw a video ages ago where you join as you go.

I haven't really done much short rowing - it makes me nervous I'll lose all the stitches :D

It would be great to see you in action so please tag me if you do a tutorial.

Thanks!
I will do a tutorial soon! I haven’t tried seaming as I go yet. I should try to learn more techniques.

Love these!!! 😍

Congratulations @kimmac! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99