A little experimental shawl knitting

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Yay, it's Monday - my favorite Steemit-day of the week! I love logging on to #needleworkmonday and seeing all the lovely projects you girls (and boys?) are working on.

I was a little bored a while back, not having any projects going on. I'm not a very experienced knitter, only recently having re-learnt a skill I know I learned in school as a kid. So I brought out a couple of yarns I purchased a while back. I just loved the colour, I didn't have any particular plans in store for them. But here I was, empty-handed and longing for a project, so the yarns would have to do. I found a recipe on YouTube (sorry D-tubers!) that seemed easy enough for my level, and set off knitting. It was the wrong yarn and the wrong sized knitting needles for the recipe, but I thought what the heck - it's just for a little fun.


I love the colour of the yarn

The recipe I went for was for a shawl, and I'm pretty happy how it turned out.

finished shawl

However, those a little experienced may have noticed I said I had a couple of yarns. Not really enough to make a big shawl to myself - I simply ran out of yarn! I could of course have gone to the store to buy another, but having two girls I thought this would be perfect for them. I felt the shawl was a little dull for two little girls, so I decided to pimp it up a little. I love learning new skills, and I recently learnt to crochet little flowers - as you can see in my previous post about how to make a double sided sun-hat.


new tools


one little flower...


... turned into many little flowers!


tea is of course mandatory!


shawl decorated with flowers


here's me trying the shawl on like a scarf

I hope you liked my attempt at knitting and thanks a lot for stopping by!

-lil-mich :)

Here are some more posts you may enjoy:
How to make a double-sided sun hat from second-hand fabrics
Re-upholstering a chair for the Live Sustainably contest
Re-upholstering the Marianne chair

Sort:  

Very interesting!
You knit well :), and also gave lot of information about it, especially about knitting needles. I love to knit, but I never did because it seems very tricky.

Thank you @darlene.kitchen 😄 it’s not so hard once you get the hang of it - you should give it a go. Try making something manageble at first. I’m sure I just saw a post describing in detail how to start knitting. 😊

Ok so I didn't know there are different sizes of knitting needle🤦. I like the flowers you made , it adds to the beauty of the shawl. I bet you felt so fulfilled putting what you learnt into good use. Happy needleworkmonday.

thank you @wondermaey :) It's a whole new world to me too - LOL I feel like an imposter going into the knitting store, but they are really lovely and helpful. Telling me all kinds of stuff about how I can sove problems I have :)

They did you well☺

Beautiful shawl, especially with the little flowers. And as a yarn addict I congratulate you on not buying new yarn (for me it would have been the perfect excuse to run to the nearest yarn shop 😆)
While I write this, I am thinking about a new tweed yarn I could buy...😆😆😆
You tube can be such a good resource for learning new (or relearning old) skills. And your shawl really looks neat and beautiful.
Thank you for sharing

thank you @neumannsalva :) my yarn shop has somewhat restricted opening hours so going to get another yarn would require some planning. :) I have learnt so much from watching youtube videos - it's great! :)

Yay for you for getting out that yarn and touching up on your knitting!!! It was so cool opening up your post to a knitting project rather than an upholstery one, it’s so great to have multiple skills. Your stitch work looks really neat!

Your shawl turned out so pretty!!! The flowers were a great addition for your daughters, I’m sure they will love it. You should be proud of yourself for knitting and crocheting in one project!! Yay!!! 😃

Thanks for sharing this week!! Oh and Monday’s are my favorite Steemit day too!!! 😁👌🏽

thanks for Your support @crosheille :) it's very much appreciated! :) I think my regular adult life is so full of all these routine tasks, I jump at any old excuse for learning new skills! :) And Needleworkmonday is such an inspiration - seeing all the beautiful stuff People make, makes me want to do more and try New Things as well! :)

You are so very welcome! I feel the same way and want to try and learn new things nowadays. I’m so glad #NeedleWorkMonday has been an inspiration to so many people. I love how we feed off of each other and get each other excited about trying new things :D

That turns out wonderfully! I just made my first shawl last week too, but it is crocheted, not knitting. Love the whimsical of the flowers!

thank you @icybc :) did you make a post about Your shawl? I'll og check out Your page :)

Lovely shawl, I miss knitting(mostly crochet lately). love to drink tea while knitting 💗 followed can't wait to see more stuff 😊

Thank you @ivan-g glad you liked it 😁

Great idea adding the flowers! Turned out beautifully! Nice job!

Thanks @fiberartists it was great fun making it - therapeutic! 😁

Du overrasker stadig med ferdighetene dine! Koselig sjal med fine blomster! :)

hehe takk Helen :) problemet er egentlig at jeg gjør for mye av det jeg helst ikke vil gjøre, og for lite av alt det jeg har lyst å gjøre! :) har bare lyst å lære meg nye ting hele tiden - tror jeg er understimulert til daglig. :) jeg følte meg litt voksen for å gå med et blomstret sjal, men kanskje jentene vil bruke det :)

Bra egenskap å ville lære noe nytt hele tiden! Blir man for voksen for sjal med blomster på? Neida :)

Hi, Good post!

I'm glad you enjoyed it @yanabrui :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73