Needlework Monday: Finished Shawl!

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

90DC89B5-ADD4-43A7-99D6-29248F1D3956.jpeg
This past week I finished that shawl I’ve been working on. This is what it looked like before I blocked it.

631238AC-B2F7-426F-A412-B5BA56075553.jpeg
Look at how puffy it looks 😂😂.

Okay, now, this is what it looks like after being blocked...
66C47048-6B60-422F-9ECA-8C38D473E78B.jpeg
Magic!! Gosh I love the difference.

I’m hoping to get some “model-y” type photos in the shawl soon!

Thanks for following along! ❤️

Sort:  

Washing and blocking make a huge difference! That turned out beautiful, the first picture... I hadn't really liked it but after blocking it really looks amazing.

Oh yes, it looks so much better 😂

Wow is that really the same shawl in the second picture?!!! 😅 It’s a total transformation! I have never blocked any of my projects before. I might try it with the baby blanket I’m crocheting to see if I can get it to stretch more and have a better shape. Your shawl turned out very beautiful, looking forward to your awesome modeling pics!! 😃😉

Crazy right?! 😂❤️

Wow, that is totally different looking! I love how it turned out - what an excellent job. Maybe I should fly you to Panama so you can teach my daughter how to do this some day. :) She's only 6 so I think we have some time...

Thank you! There’s a big difference. Hmm maybe if y’all are ever in Texas... 😂😂

Yeah, we're from Texas and some days we'll head back there to visit... ;)

This turned out so pretty. I love that brown! It's amazing what a difference blocking makes.

Hi @lizgore. Your shawl turned out very beautiful. I love the yarn color of the purple. Magic difference. Regards.

Thank you!!

Beautifully done @lizgore! I'm not familiar with the blocking technique. Is it like ironing??

Thank you! Blocking is where you soak a knitted item in water (sometimes with soap or shampoo) and then laying it out to dry. In this case I stretched and pinned down the shawl to help shape it. ❤️

Ohh, I see, thank you. Indeed, agree with you,
what a difference does it make!! Beautifully done👏👏👏

Lovely shades, lovely pattern and yes lovely model photos are missing 😆😆😆
Your shawl is really amazing and the difference between blocking and unblocked – wow

Thank you!! Love seeing it transform!

Oh my goodness it is beautiful @lizgore!

Colour blocking so on point! Revamping stuff are in vogue these days, wish I had a shawl to block🤔 no worries I'll think of something, Really nice work @lizgore

Thank you!

What a difference blocking can make, hard to believe!
Do post some modely-type photos, would be great to see how the shawl looks like on someone :-)

Hopefully I’ll have some by the next Monday! ❤️

Looking forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79