#NeedleworkMonday Fractals and Failures

Happy #needleworkmonday!

This week I finished a fractal yarn spun from BFL and silk. We had a great discussion on our live stream about visual color blending and I'll be posting a blog entry about how visual color blending affects a fractal.

IMAG2839.jpg

I also checked on our silk cocoon failure. Our colors came out decent, but still not sure if I'll be able to recover them after the fermenting. Live and learn.

29026277_2011749398853609_8921894057416851456_n.jpg

What textile wonders did you bring to the world this week?


luthlogobanner (1).png

All photos and text property of @luthvarian

Sort:  

wow... when I first saw the colourful cocoons I thought they were mini Easter eggs @luthvarian ... oh my mind....

The color blending is just gorgeous! You are very talented and I look forward to your posts every week. So sorry about the cocoons, but they, too are truly stunning colors. Reuse somehow? Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thank you!

I'll have to see if they're usable, but there's a chance they may be no good. :-)

I think the colors of the cocoons are happy and bright - perfect for spring and summer wear. 😊

I have to agree with everyone else and say I’m sorry the cocoons might not recover but those colors sure are brilliant!! 😍

How will you find out if the cocoons are actually usable? They are beautiful.
That's some really nicely spun yarn too, I'm interested in how the fractal thing works out so gonna check out that blog post.

I'm giving them a solid few weeks to fully dry. Fermentation bacteria can only survive in a moist environment, so if there is still a smell after a few weeks, in the trash they go. So far, almost all the odor is gone, so I'm hopeful, but if it doesn't work out, that's okay. :-)

Beautiful colours both the vivid and the softer ones. What will happen to the damaged cocoons?

If they survive the fermentation, they'll become an add-in into art yarn. If not, they go in the trash. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71