NeedleworkMonday Crochet at the Beach Yay or Nay?

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

needlework monday-6.jpg

Hello Needleworkers.

I am still waiting for the day someone starts showing off their tattoos for this community.

I recently took my Valentine's Day Project to the beach. I pictured a Metzli of days past who could take a towel, bowl of cherries and a good book and hang out at the beach all day long. I figured maybe my project would get a little sea smell woven into it.

I had my project out already when remembrance of who present day Metzli is, mom of a little boy who likes to kick dirt.

Still, if the kid wasn't into throwing sand... still seems like a bad idea. Any beach crocheters out there?

Here are some pictures of my Valentines Day project. It turns out the yarn might not be that magical, as the supply is dwindling fast. I already know the next few projects will be worked up in white, with my Valentines Day yarn to go on the edges, this way, I can extend the material to get me a full set of towels.

7C7D48E1-90B6-48E7-8E3D-8376340F9578.JPG
Me at the beach after I realized the crochet wasn't happening

IMG_0344.jpeg
Finished Dish Drying Mat

IMG_0345.jpeg
the pattern looks almost purposeful

IMG_0346.jpeg
check out those sharp corners, I can barely believe its my work

IMG_0347.jpeg
the other side is just as sharp too.

IMG_0349.jpeg
remember my son's washcloth? It didn't have a chord. So I made him a new one. Here I am bragging that I finally conquered the chorded stitch. No more braids or double crochet stitches when I make purses and such, now I make cords.

Thank you for visiting me.

20180516_002249_0001.png

all images and graphics used are mine and compiled together using Canva or simply uploaded from my phone. Except the banners which are used with the permission of the community who created them

Sort:  

Those look great!!
At least you tried at the beach! lol Now you know for next time. haha. I really like the dish drying towel's color! Awesome work!

the color transitions have become good

Yes, I like how they look too! I stopped by your blog and saw that cute little sheep. You made his coat look so perfect.

Kudos on the chording! It is something I haven't mastered, yet. Someday perhaps...

Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate you.

Perfect crochet ... and day at the beach 😊. Well done for learning how to create a cord!

Thank you!

You mama's love your needlework. I like the pattern. Like you said it looks like it's ment to be there.🙄

This post was resteemed by @rcr.bis Resteem Service.

Follow @rcr.bis to have your posts upvoted and resteemed plus a chance to win @steembasicincome shares.

Lol. Thanks for commenting.

Haaa I love how you talked about past and present Metzli! The reality is real when you have kids lol!!! It changes quite a bit for us.

I love how your dish drying mat turned out. Good job on those sharp edges and nice work on mastering the chord. Your son’s washcloth turned out nice too...kudos to him for finishing it!!

Cute beach pic!! ❤️

Thank you! I really was proud of those sharp edges and was reminiscing on eating fruit at the beach without getting sandy. Ha!

You’re welcome!! Lol you are so funny!!!

Everyday is a great day to crochet, even on a beach trip! Great job with the cording!! So talented!!

I agree. I keep my project by my computer and add stitches here and there when I get stuck with my words.

Well done on the new 'cording' skill @metzli. I actually have no tattoos - I'm an old-fashioned coward 😁, but I do like appreciating the designs and 'embroidery' possibilities...

Thanks! I've been working on that cording for YEARS. Those baby booties never made it on my kids' feet... I don't have any tattoos either. Im not big on needles and I don't know of anything I would like to like FOREVER so I opt out. Still though, it is needlework!

I have thought about embroidering toys to give them tattoos. Sounds like it would be fun.

oh yes.... embroidered toys @metzli ... I have seen some super clever ones on pinterest - hard to get out of there sometimes !

I ❤️ Pinterest.

I’m @metzlislight there, though I hardly use it now that I spend so much time on steemit.

ohhhhhhh beach .... want.... :-D
But I would be grilled in minutes :-DDD If I had a beach nearby I would probably also try to knit or crochet, but as you told, not sure how practical it is.
Your pink mat is super nice, and I also can see a pattern in the flecks (you should tell others, that you made this possible by elaborate math to simulate a quasi-random colour distribution)
And lovely beach photo of you <3

Beautiful fabric, the beach is a good place to relax and be creative

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59