Needlework Monday: Birthday Gift for Mother-in-Law Finished

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Happy #NeedleworkMonday, everyone!

I have been MIA (missing in action) because of my job and the new project I have been assigned to work. We have been staying busy for sure, and when I get home, it is all I can do to get dinner for us and get to bed. 

However, I did want to update you on how my mother-in-law liked her birthday present.

We celebrated her birthday on Saturday April 28th at the rehabilitation center. We went to the lunchroom, where we sang to her and she looked at the cupcakes longingly. She has graduated from a feeding tube to puréed meals, but that does not help when the cupcakes are not puréed. She was very tired from physical therapy she had that morning. She stayed in the lunchroom about 20 minutes and then went back to the room to lie down.

She opened her gifts that evening and loved the colors and the softness of the Granny Rectangle Afghan. 

Now that she is back at home, she gets to use it on her specialized hospital bed. It makes her smile big! I am very happy that she loves her gift, and happy that I have gained confidence to make something like this.

What is my next project? I am not sure yet, but I have a few works in progress that I am planning to finish this year sometime (if my schedule allows for it).



[!Needlework Monday project]()

Sort:  

Lovely story, so pleased your mother-in-law liked her afghan and that she's back home. I hope she continues to recover, it can take a long time and be exhausting, as you say. You sound as if you have your hands full!

Thanks @shanibeer! It is exhausting since she cannot do anything for herself yet, but she is working hard to get better.

What a pretty blanket! Hope she will totally recover very soon 😊

It was really sweet of you to make such a pretty afghan for your MIL! I'm glad she's happy with it! (I thought it was sad that she couldn't have the cupcakes, though.)

Thanks so much @mtnmeadowmomma! Yes, she was sad that she could not have cupcakes. Her daughter asked if the cooking staff would purée one for her and they declined. Well, it is something else she can look forward to! 😁

Very cute blanket, so nice for your mother in laws birthday present😃

Thanks so much @naomipangolin! Appreciate it!!

Such a pretty blanket, glad she likes it! I hope she continues to get better.

Thanks, @jamethiel! She is working on getting back to herself.

Good to hear you are still on your needlework, but not so good to hear about your mother in law!

I missed that part and I hope she will be okay and wishing her and all of you guys the best in her recovery

Thanks @karinxxl! Yes, she had a stroke back in March and multiple mini-strokes afterward. She was in the hospital for 3 weeks and in a rehab center for another 4 weeks. She keeps working to get better daily. Appreciate the well wishes!!

Hi @mrscwin! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you! I've been missing lately too, but Im glad to be back and see all the great projects. Have a great week!

Glad that you are back @crystalize! You have a great week, too!

Hello @mrscwin... The blanket looks great. I am curious to see your other projects so hopefully you will be able to show us when you have time :)

Thanks @cryptocariad! Sure will - there are a few bags in the closet and my husband is like, “Can you take care of those, please?” 😁

Hi @mrscwin good job on taking care of mum in law and making her stuff, she sure will feel rejuvenated with you guys around her. The blanket is lovely. About the cup cakes, no worries maybe get her the one she could eat next time☺

Thanks @wondermaey! That is true, she is very happy to be home with her own things. My sister-in-law asked the cooking staff at the rehab center if they would purée a cupcake for her, and they declined. I guess we may attempt to purée something like that for her.

Aww they declined😞, its alright she has you guys , soon the cupcake will be a tasty reality.

So good to hear that your gift was well received and that your mother in law is making slowly progress. The blanket is cheery and will brighten up her days. I hope you stay strong and will have a bit more spare time.

I appreciate it @neumannsalva! She is working hard to get back to herself, but we all know it will take time. I hope that we all will get some more time in the day. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86