Suggestion of converting pants into bag?

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

DSC_3898.JPG
I just absolutely have to salvage those wonderful pockets!!

This is my son's I bought for him years ago. No it won't fit any more.

However, because that caual looking deco and metal button pockets, I have a feeling that it could become a cool shoulder kind of bag for teen boy.

So if anyone have done this kind of project before and don't mind to share, or idea came like a lightning flash to your mind when you saw this, I am very much welcome to be enlightened😃

Sort:  

Hey @naomipangolin! @lmrey made a shoulder bag out of a pair of jeans you can view here: https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@lmrey/needleworkmonday-learning-to-customize-a-jeans-pants

Also @phoenixwren made a bag out of an old jumper that you can view here:

https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@phoenixwren/needlework-monday-the-brownie-bag

Maybe you can reach out to them for help and some ideas!! 😊

Wooow, those bags do look a bit in advance level😍 thank you for sharing, now make me think of combination of inner layers too, those bags with nice arrangement of colors. Hmmm, need to check my stashed fabrics😂

Haaa sure no problem at all! I hope you find a method that works for you!!

I love those pockets too @naomipangolin! You must, must salvage them :D
I haven't tried turning one to bag before but there are quite a number of ideas available in the net, like this one: https://noodle-head.com/2010/01/tutorial-messenger-bag-from-cargo-pants.html.

Thank you @marblely, sorry for the late reply, will look into it😆

@marblely has suggested a great idea there, @naomipangolin...
I envisage using those as side pockets in the structure of a rucksack... but I haven't made one to show you :D

@cryptocariad mmm, imaginations do expand... ❤

I have seen this before and actually have a few pair of men's cargo shorts for this purpose. Keep us posted on this project.

http://ladydusk.blogspot.com/2015/01/handcrafted-nature-study-bags.html This is what I was thinking about. Good thing I opened up my pinterest today and this popped up!

Wow, cool project! Looks simple enough for a try, thanks a bunch!!@apanamamama

So sorry, but I am of no help here... but I saw the others posting good links how to make a bag out of the pockets. I hope you post about the process (If you do it) :-D

Thank you, I'm still keeping it untouched, couldn't work on it last week😥 hopefult I could get started soon!😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61