You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Needlework Mondays: Threading my Serger

I do not know the term serger... but from the photo I guess it is like a overlock? If yes, then I am little envious :-D I like to sew jearsey skirts (and trying to sew a shirt) and an overlock would be super helpful. But around here they are very expensive and my working space is so small, that my normal sewing machine fits hardly ....
Thank you for sharing :-D

Sort:  

Yes it's the same as an overlock! I understand your woes! My working space is small but I've decided that if I let that hold me back I'll never get anything done. So I'm trying to work with that aspect of it in the best way I can. I hadn't used one before yesterday and am thoroughly impressed with it! It's like 8x faster than a normal sewing machine, although there's extra work involved with finishing the threads (you have to tuck them afterwards or something)
I got a decent deal on it too. I probably shouldn't have splurged on it being the ameteur that I am, but this is what I want to do :-) I am passionate about it and not regretting my decision in the least.
Thank you for your continued support @neumannsalva. Angel on earth you are! ♡
Wishing you luck on your skirt project. I will also probably try my hand a skirt today.

I am curious to see what you will make with this new machine. I always think that the garments look more professional when done with an overlock/serger. But I am still so frightened by sewing and skirts are right now my limit, that another machine is not necessary. But perhaps I will dare more (soon....) I want to try buttonholes, because I want to reinforce my knitted button-bands on cardigans, but I still do not understand my machine ... (I won it in a bookstore :-D)

This is my working place... a bit crowded :-D
20180516_143030513_iOS.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84