You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #needleworkmonday | International Women's Day - women, art and sewing

Thank you for all this amazing resources... I could not resist and directly made the test and found out that Vanessa Bell (who I also didn’t know before) is my soul artist :-D I guess that was a hint that I should start to drink, have promiscuous relations and read more philosophy 😂
ANd with the act of sewing 100 garments in a year.... We will see. I currently have a cyst (ahhhhh) on a finger joint and cannot/should not knit or crochet. So, I started to replace my beloved knitting with sewing. It is not an adequate replacement, but perhaps this will lead to 100 garments (ok, 20 in a year is more realistic for me 😂 )
Although I am at the moment more at ‚recognising flaws‘ stage with my sewing.
Thank you for this wonderful ideas on women‘s day

Sort:  

Ah, Vanessa Bell - interesting :) I know of her and the Bloomsbury group of artists and writers around her, but not a great deal about her painting or thinking. Sorry to hear about your finger, I hope it is not painful. Will it recover? But a good impulse to extend your creativity to sewing :) I used to sew as a teenager and I would guess I made about one garment a week, but two is quite something. I believe Sonya was doing it as part of her art practice, so her work, rather than as an additional thing to work/family/home etc. I've come to love flaws ... they are the humanity :)
I'm glad you enjoyed the post :)

With the finger.... no idea if it will go away. I have had something similar on my wrist, perhaps of all the dancing and teaching and the strain/weight on the joint. It lasted for years. Today it is gone, but I barley do things like handstand or the like anymore.
The finger joint hurts sometimes, but not every time, which makes it hard to not knit 😂 (I did it yesterday...)
I find Sonyas approach very inspiring. And 50 garments a week is also very impressive!!! I think I envy you your sewing experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85