You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Summer slump and a heart attack (not really, only a sewing question)

My Mom recently asked me to adjust the elastic waistband on some sweatpants and they had the same issue, the elastic was totally sewn in. Being lazy, I used my handy dandy seam ripper and opened the waistband in four places where I then cut the elastic vertically and then Closed up the hole. The result being that the tightness has been lessened, but the elastic still functions.
In your case, if the elastic will maintain the integrity of the look, I would measure her waist to see how much it needs to be loosened and then snip the elastic vertically in as many spots as necessary to Make it comfy.
🌻 hope this helps, @neumannsalva
🌊🌙46A915F6-347E-49C8-AFFB-DCCE11FFF228.jpeg

Sort:  

This is a good idea and I tried it... ugh...but it seems to be the dress of hell, I have no idea who produced my mother’s dress. The elastic is enveloped two times by fabric and on both sides its sewn in. I cannot rip it open without hurting the fabric on the right side. Baaaaaad dress.

That is most unfortunate 😕 sounds like this will be a major overhaul. Here’s a positive note, you’ll now know how not to build a dress.
The fashion industry has taken to making clothes so we can no longer make alterations. 😩

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74