First Sweater Experience

I have noticed whenever people come to know of my knitting hobby, they demand I make a sweater for them. I have been asked to make a sweater for someone 3 times since I started knitting in December 2018.

I am 2 months shy of a year of knitting and I definitely consider myself a noob at this craft. I remember losing my favorite hat when it got cold in Atlanta, Georgia last winter and I thought to myself, “screw it! I’ll just make one”. I looked at several free hat patterns, bought myself a pair of straight needles and worsted weight yarn from Walmart, and off I knit. Being as choosey as I am, I couldn’t decide on any particular pattern. I decided to knit as I please and shape the top of the hat loosely following one of the youtube videos available for free. Then, I made my very first hat and even though it’s slightly big on an adult man’s head, it can be of help I am sure.

I started knitting a raglan sweater for my sister about a month ago (loosely) following the Ravelry pattern Flax. I liked the idea of adding some detail to the sleeves, but instead of knitting a garter panel I decided to make a jumbo cable going down the sleeves. It required me to creatively maneuver around this little change. Apart from a few holes from where the kfb increases start, I think it looks rather fine. I just finished my second skein of yarn and in the next row I'll be separating the sleeves from the round.

2019-10-05 11.43.11 2.jpg

Since I started knitting this sweater, I have been a yarn hoarder. I have bought three circular needles, some darning needles, hundreds of dollars’ worth of yarn, persuaded my sister to drive me up to obscure yarn stores. One frugal life pro tip I can provide is to use ring earrings as stitch markers. We had a bunch lying around and we can only wear so many earrings at a time.

2019-10-05 11.43.11 1.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my!!! You are a very fast learner. You only knit such a short time and your cable sweater looks beautiful (I still do not dare to try myself on cables 😱) I love pink, I love raglan constructions and I love knitting, so you had me with this sweater.
The flax sweater is also on my to knit list, but I have so many (shame on me) project running, I am not allowed to cast on something new.
And with the yarn I am also full of understanding and I hope nobody takes a close look at the bottom of my wardrobe... I may have hidden some boxes of yarn. Besides the boxes of yarn which are populating our flat 😂😂😂

Haha I feel ya! I have so many projects I would rather be working on right now!

I love the Flax pattern - it's great in its simplicity. You can be proud of knitting such a sweater after starting only such a short time ago :)

Thanks! I am sort of rebellious when it comes to following patterns, I always want to add my own elements haha

Congratulations @purlisland! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello purlisland, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55