OOOOOOOOOklahoma on Needlework Monday.steemCreated with Sketch.

20200113_152425.jpg
Mixing my embroidery and travel obsessions. Image is my own.


I have been doing embroidery since I was a young woman and until three years ago, I was obsessed. I had to stop doing hand work because of a hand injury. Since I recently had hand surgery, I am able to do the embroidery again. I have been stitching as often as I can. This includes a project I have been thinking about since we began collecting counties. I wanted to take this #needleworkmonday and show it off.

201911255.png
The counties @scottf and I have collected. Image from our website, you can visit it HERE


I have wanted to do a cross stitch of each state showing what counties we have visited, but was not sure how I wanted to do it. I was looking at a picture of Oklahoma State Park and it was broken down into six regions: Green Country, Choctaw Country, Chickasaw Country, Frontier Country, Red Carpet Country, and Great Plains Country. As I looked at the picture I could see in my mind the outline of the counties. It was then I decided I would do an outline of all the counties and fill them in with the colors symbolizing which region it is in.

20200113_160735.jpg
A close up of the filled in Great Plains Country counties. Image is my own.


We completed collecting all of the Oklahoma counties in the summer of 2019. Because of this I decided to complete Oklahoma first in my project. As you can see in the first image, I have filled in the Great Plains Country and the Red Carpet County and will finish the black outlining of the Frontier and Chickasaw Countries this week. Then I can move on to the last two regions. The stitches I am using is just a half stitch which is one half of a full cross stitch (X). The aida cloth is 18 count and I am using two of the six threads you find in the floss.

20200113_152745.jpg
My storage system for my County Crosstitch Project. Image is mine.


Because I travel and take my embroidery with me. To keep the work safe and the threads organized, I use a zippered notebook, baseball card protector sheets, and small baggies. As you can see, the outcome is pretty handy. How do you keep our projects together and organized? I would love to see it.


iSupportSteemTerminal.gif

duckystand.png


Have YOU thought about joining the Redfish Rally?


Visit the Steemterminal to find out more.

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @wesphilbin on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @wesphilbin.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you much!

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work and join us in The Castle sometime!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 89.77%

This post has been upvoted by witness @untersatz. You've done a great job!
The @untersatz witness and manual curation is under the guidance of @contrabourdon and @organduo.
Current VP: 94.81%


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It's good to see you are still creating positive energy and awesome projects my friend. This is a perfect way to remember as well as honor all those places!!

!trdo

Congratulations @wesphilbin, you successfuly trended the post shared by @rubberduckiemom!
@rubberduckiemom will receive 0.07806375 TRDO & @wesphilbin will get 0.05204250 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I am trying to get all those projects done. Love that I can still be creative. I have missed the stitching so much.

That’s such nice work to do and all off those countries you both visited?

Yes. We both have been else where before we met, but we decided it had to be both of us.

Popped in to say ooooooooohh so nice :D

Thank you. It is a quick and non thinking piece so I am loving it.

Sooooo beautiful! I love how you approached the the topic and used different stitches and colors which harmonise so well. I love the „clean“ appearance you created by stitches the black borders and leaving some white space for the coloured flecks to enfold their impact.
And your organising is admiring... I have several boxes in varying states of tidiness (or chaos) 😂

Thank you. I needed something quick and the black border goes fast. Since I am trying to get all caught up so I just have to do the counties as we come to them, I figured a half stich would be quickest.

I have to be honest, my Grand George the First is who gave me idea for the organization. Him and his pokemon cards! I guess I gotta keep'em all. Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64092.96
ETH 3145.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88