You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #needleworkmonday | things change | new opportunities arrive

My late father ran a market stall selling wool and haberdashery, he kept complaining that this customers were dying. This was in the 90's... it's a dying art what you do.

He tried his best to get me to follow on his trade but I resisted. IT was my line of work. I'm glad he saw my success before I lost him in 2000.

Sort:  

I agree - things have changed dramatically over the past 20-30 years. There has been something of a renaissance since the global financial crash with a greater emphasis on repair and re-cycle, but the trends against that and the small retailer are tremendous. I have a friend whose family business was a haberdashery stall in the market, but he says the market is no longer a "destination" for shopping. He, like you, made a break and has a different career now. Good that your dad saw that you were successful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87