Needlework Monday – Knitting leggings

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit!!!

  Today is the #NeedleworkMonday!!! I have leggings which I love very much.

image

image

They have a side seam. I want to knit myself another pair of similar leggings but on circular needles so that there is no seam.

image

Girls, did any of you knit it? I will be grateful if you share your experience.


I wish you creative inspiration and look forward to your work !!!

@tali72

#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille

Sort:  

Those are so cute Tala!! You look great wearing them!

thank you, dear! I love these very much :)

Beautiful photo of you 😍😍😍 But I cannot help with this kind of knitting. But I think @muscara is the expert as you can see from her tips :-) I despair if I have to hold several strands of yarn in my hands and the pattern looks complicated.

thank you very much my dear !!! This we went with parents in a national park. I can buy leggings for 2.5 euros - it is very cheap in Israel. but I do not want to buy them and I want to try to knit the leggings myself. I have never done this before, although I already knitted socks more than once. I hope that I will cope with this project :)

Very nice job @tali

I agree, but not mine :)))

Alas, stranded knitting is not for me - I prefer double knitting. With stranded knitting I have problems with the tension and the not-active yarn shows through the fabric. I did a cowl as a first project and if you don't look too closely it's okay ;)

But they shouldn't be that difficult to knit if you tried stranded knitting. You can count the stitches and the yarn seems to be simple fingering weight sock yarn.

PS: You might change the tag from "crochet" to "knitting" to reach the right people ;)

I have some double knitting in my ravelry queue, but am hesitant to start. It seems harder than circular stranding to me. We all have different preferences, right?

If you know how to do stranded knitting you have the major part done: dealing with two threads at a time and reading patterns. From that point on there are as many ways to double knitting as there are knitters ;) It depends on how you knit, continental or English (thrower or picker?) - the list of ways to knit is endless. I'd advise you to visit Youtube and look for tutorial and try the different ways.

I can pick and throw, which makes stranded knitting easy--one color in each hand.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's how Sockmatician does it - I learnt most things double knitting from his videos. He has such a nice voice, the British accent is so "just try it, it's not that difficult, believe me" :)

Wow... I hadn't seen this video, @muscara... I feel the tension on the fingers is really important to keep that flow going... I would struggle with that, but I'm always tempted (and easily convinced) to try new techniques that can improve my skills :D Thank you !!!

I am on the contrary a conservative by nature therefore I need time to set myself up to try something new :)

Many thanks for the video !!! I will definitely look!!!!!...... P.S. Wow!!!!!!! I'm not sure that I will succeed so :)))

I also think whether to make a jacquard pattern or just colorful lines

@fiberfrau wow, this is handy!!! I tried once, but my right hand won't hold the yarn...

you're right! when working with a jacquard pattern is difficult to follow the uniform tension of the yarn

very beautiful jacquard pattern! This is a rather complicated pattern. thanks for the advice!!!

Norwegian patterns are so pretty! I did a sweater in the round with steeks several years ago. It was an ambitious project that turned out well--I still have and wear the sweater.

I also like the Norwegian patterns

I have totally failed when trying to do this sort of knitting by hand, @tali.... I shall try to find examples of my knitting but have never managed anything wearable... To start with trying to knit the wrong side was totally hard... I think it's easier in the round so you can always see what you're doing.
All that led me to get a knitting machine years ago... No problem with that !

I manage to knit socks but I have not tried to knit leggings. I think to try to work on 5 knitting needles. I can not knit on a knitting machine :)

Cool leggings and a very nice pattern!
I actually have to knit a pair myself for my winter-time caravaning. Will be reading all comments to see if people have some great tips.

Do you want to knit in a circular or flat cloth and then sew?

I think I'd be going for a circular, as it wouldn't leave a seam. I've seen people do it with five needles or needles with a sort of wire. Anyway, I'll have to look into it more closely...

I think 5 knitting needles will be more convenient. I want to try this particular method

Those are so beautiful! I'm impressed!

it is very convenient. I really like these

I can see why. They are beautiful.

The leggings look very pretty @tali72 and you look very pretty :) Me too would like to knit like that but am far from the skills needed for it :D. I will start with plain one first with side seams. Hehe.

thank you very much for the compliment! :) with side seam will be fine too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94