Postcards… not paper?!

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)
design, embroidery & photo © Heather Johnsgaard
Have you ever received a postcard?

When I was a little girl, I was thoroughly excited to receive a postcard from my Aunt when she took her annual vacation to Spain!

It seemed like such an exotic adventure, and I could not wait until I would grow up and travel on my own and send out my own carefully chosen postcards to all of my family and friends.

It didn't matter that inevitably the card would almost always arrive after the sender was back from their vacation!

Did you know?


The study and collecting of postcards is termed deltiology.

But, I bet you have not heard of “fibre” postcards!

A few years ago, I had been contacted by a lady who had come across a small article about me in a magazine, and she decided to get in touch with me.

After a few conversations back and forth, she asked me if I would be interested in participating in a fibre postcard event that some stitchers were participating in.

design, embroidery & photo © Heather Johnsgaard
I had no clue what it was all about.

It turns out fibre postcards are exactly that; postcards made out of fabric, sometimes with a comment written on the back. The only difference being they could not be sent out without an envelope like conventional post cards are.

The event took place for Christmas, so in my mind, it was basically a stitchery swap with the swap being of specific dimension and had to be made out of some type of fibre. Other than that, it was anything goes.

I participated for two Christmases, that was enough for me! Shown here is the first I made and gifted out.

design, embroidery & photo © Heather Johnsgaard



*********************************************
*********************************************

PHC-Footer-05.gif

*********************************************

Sort:  

This is a lovely idea.
My mum had some very old fabric postcards in the cardboard box with all the family photos. These were machine made and were designed for occasions - weddings, birthdays, anniversaries. I'm guessing they were from the 1950s, maybe earlier.

Wow, what a keepsake you have there! Not such a new thing then.... hmmmm!

Congratulations @thistle-rock! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts! Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

Thank you so much, I am very pleased and appreciative! 😊

Nice! I will include to my list this new term, deltiology...yeah, before when the trend was snail mail, happy much to received postcards from friends in foreign land...

Posted using Partiko Android

It is sad this wonderful type of communication has been lost to social media! It always came as a wonderful surprise to receive a "piece of their (the sender's) time", knowing they were thinking of you while away!

you have done some beautiful work on here.. what a lovely idea
tip !

Thank you so much.... they indeed make lovely gifts!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much, very much appreciated 😊

This is very cool! I've never heard of them.

And I just got a post card from Kenya last week, first one I've had in years, maybe decades. :))

It has been years since I have either bought or received a card too... so nice you got one from Kenya!

I really love this idea! This is the first I’ve ever heard of fibre postcards. Yours turned out so lovely! Very beautiful embroidery work! Thank you for sharing this with us!

Thank you @crosheille... apparently it is not a new concept as I found out in the comment from @shanibeer above! 😊

Oh yes I see! 😉

That is absolutely awesome! You're right I had never heard of or saw a fibre post card. Very cool 💖💖💖

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you... apparently not a new concept as I found out in one of the other comments! 😊

You're most welcome 🙏
Hehe..that's ok it was new to us 😊🙌 and that's rockin 💖💖💖

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @thistle-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Fascinating information.

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76