Needleworkmonday - Momma's flowing waves dress

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180624_184135.jpg
The Great Wave of Kanagawa a painting made by Hokusai🌊 is one of the most recognizable work of Japanese art in the world. It was painted in the 19th century.
Well, I didn't know all this until I posted a picture of my done dress. Thanks to @neumannsalva 's travel experience and attention to detail she was able to note that she'd seen a painting of the sort ☺.
It was interesting to get all that information as a result of the resemblance of the material I used with the painting of The Great Wave.
I was supposed to make the dress for my mom as well and she wasn't around for that so I held off making hers and with good reason as well.
Turns out I was right in waiting for her to be back (I usually am about that) even though she insisted I didn't have to wait (she usually does).
She changed the style three times 🤦🤦 and then I altered the dress a lot more times than that 🤦🤦🤦🤦
We finally settled on a gathered flowing gown with little sleeves , a u-neck in front and a kinda canoe shaped back neck, and I added the remains of my blue velvet materials as a band and sewed on another starlike designed I got from another material onto the velvet. Making the gathers required for the gown made me realize I would like to have long flowing gathered skirt. I think it would be cool to make that for myself.
She looked quite content twirling with it. I also feel accomplished and relieved 😀😊😊
IMG_20180623_132236.jpg
IMG_20180623_132302.jpg
IMG_20180625_110340_479.jpg
IMG_20180624_184152.jpg

Sort:  

Ooo I like the waves pattern and that is a beautifully made dress (I feel you on the number of alterations required)! Your mom looks like she is loving it and she is really working it :)

Thank you @marblely lol! Yeah I'm definitely happy about the loving and working it part

Thanks for your kInd words🙂

It turned out so pretty and flowy!!! I love the top part of it too. That’s so funny about your mom changing the design three times! At least you knew to wait on her and not complete it without her being there. I’m glad she loves it! Job well done! What an amazing skill you have~ 😊

Thank you @crosheille , waiting was definitely the better option, thanks for appreciating the dress.😊

Absolutely! 😉

That is a stunning dress and your mum looks beautiful. It sounds as if you know your mum very well. I hadn't noticed the resemblance to the great wave but I can see it now. How did you learn to dressmake? Your garments are always beautifully designed and fitted. You mentioned that you had done some drawings ... will you share them?

Thank you @shanibeer , yeah it does look like it.
I learnt to make dresses while I just finished school , I'm glad I did, although I also learn from youtube and my aunt when ever I travel the thousands of kilometers to my hometown in Akwaibom.
The drawings I made🙈🙈 , they are just abstracts tho, I don't think they are so nice and I use pens to make them sharing that when there are prettier ones to look at like shortbread ... I dunno

It's a lovely dress and fabric @wondermaey - I think your mum looks very happy with the final design 😊 !

Thanks, yeah she was pleased☺

So beautiful! Thank you for sharing with us all.

Thanks for taking the time to comment @fiberfrau

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Your post will be shared in my daily report :)

wow !!!!! dress is fine !!!! your mom in the photo is quite young :)

Thanks @tali72, yeah she grows younger lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67674.48
ETH 3755.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72