#NeedleworkMonday: Made some yarn

Happy #NeedleworkMonday! This week I've been busting stash.

I finished a cowl made from hand-spun, hand-dyed Lincoln locks. The photo doesn't show it well, but there are subtle yellow beads where the lacework of the pattern is.

IMAG2798.jpg

I also hit the limit of my scrap bag. When I process fiber for other projects, there are always scraps and bits left in the tools which aren't good for the project I'm working on. I save those in a scrap bag. I carded up 8 ounces of scraps Saturday and made a pleasing set of rolags.

IMAG2805.jpg

I played around with arranging them in different color orders and finally settled on a gradient that went from the white, to the blues to the pinks. I spun those up using a woolen long draw technique to get a fuzzy, airy, warm yarn. Before finishing it, it looked to be about a fingering weight yarn. I'll have to see how it fluffs up after it dries from its wash.

IMAG2808.jpg

I also put together several articles and tutorials for my website, like this tutorial on dyeing silk mawata.

I hope you've had a productive week in fiber work!

Sort:  

I like the natural colours of the cowl very much - what sort of dyes did you use?
I initially thought the rolags were beads ! lovely colours there .
I also like the fact that you use up all the scraps to make more yarn @luthvarian !

I use Country Classic dyes. The Lincoln locks were dyed raw so that the tips were lighter than the butts, then flick carded and spun from the lock.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73