My neighbor finally spoke to me

in #neighbor6 years ago

My neighbor talked to me

To Mariana, who in a minute showed me what I had not seen in 6 years of service.

After three years of greetings to which I had never received an answer, my neighbor finally spoke to me. I had never even shown a gesture of minimal reciprocity to my greetings every time we crossed, or leaving to leave the garbage, or to meet in the same post quesadillas of the neighbor, and not to coincide in the arrival at our respective houses . It seemed that our relationship was destined to keep me saying good morning, evenings or evenings, and he would simply perpetuate a sepulchral relationship.

The bell rang a few nights ago. Being Sunday, after ten o'clock at night, I could only be a fan of catalog sales who wanted at all costs to reach the long-awaited prize of the seller of the month, or a neighbor with a need. For my mental and economic tranquility, it was the latter. When I opened the door there I was, standing in front of me with a gesture that was seen as the beginning of a smile I had never seen in him. He told me firmly, "goodnight, neighbor, would you let me jump on your roof to my house? I was left without keys and my family is not there."

Immediately we were already in the backyard, I was holding a ladder so that he could climb and he was already on the side of his property. This happened vertiginously, or at least it seemed to me; Maybe because I was still stunned since I first heard a greeting from him. The next day we crossed into the light meter and answered my greeting. Three years of separation ended thanks to a small help I could provide.

Dr. Michael Tomasello points out in his book "Why We Cooperate" that humans are born with an interest in helping others, and that this is not established from the instruction of parents or culture, although over the years it can be reinforced or repressed according to the social norms with which children develop.

Helping others in some way brings us closer, relates us in an activity as simple as letting the neighbor to your house on your roof, or even establish a long-term community development program. My neighbor and I have reduced our limits thanks to a need in which I could be of help.

And the best part of helping is not in developing new friendships, or in positively changing someone's life, but in their condition of universality: helping is something we all have the capacity to perform.

Last year I was fortunate to attend the presentation of an award that recognizes people who have excelled in Art; Sport; Science and Technology; and in Social Work. During her words of gratitude for the distinction in the area of ​​Social Work, Mariana stressed that any of the other three categories requires skills and abilities, as well as perseverance to achieve results, and that these are areas in which we can not easily aspire to obtain recognition. However, he said, in the social field we all have the opportunity to succeed, to achieve recognition that can be the smile of a child, the gratitude of a woman, or even an award like the one Mariana received and well deserved.

I extend the invitation that Mariana made that day, so that you are open at all times to the opportunities of being of the greatest benefit to others. We can all be awarded in the scope of our Social Work, because we all have the ability to help others.

Sort:  

Congratulations @larson.nathaniel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @larson.nathaniel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75