You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Playtime! A Lost Art in Education?

in #neoxian5 years ago

Very good post! I totally agree, children already experience so much pressure at school while there should be more room to explore things.. I know that back in the days it was quite normal to let a child go to school alone, but nowadays it's unthinkable even for short routes because of the world we live in today .. I wish it would be somewhere in the middle, without so many dangers lying around the corner..

Sort:  

@anouk.nox yes it would be great if kids could just be kids and have the freedom that we had. It's definitely not beneficial to their development into well adjusted adults.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree, I often think to myself "Is this what I want my daughter to see every day?" And I often wonder how it's possible that she asks me so many questions, wants to know everything (as she's eager to learn, which I love) but yet she sees people sleeping on the cold streets sometimes several times before we arrive at her school every day. Yet, she never asks me why this man is on the cold floor instead of a bed. It has nothing to do with children playing, but it has to do with the fact what she grows up to see as a normal thing ever since we arrived here.

I hope we can move to another apartment somewhere beginning next year, so at least we can let her play in an area with less traffic smells and dirty streets but trees instead.. It makes me quite depressed sometimes that this is the new normal for many people. We don't live her because we love the city life we live her because it went down like that at the time, we had no options, and I much prefer having a garden and parks for her to play .. Children that grow up in the city (including myself when I was a child) miss a lot of things like playing in the woods/nature with fresh air as it's not around the corner for us (and it also wasn't for me when I was young).

Sorry I almost wrote you a book haha (these things are on my mind lately therefore it had to be written haha)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55