My Investment Strategy for 2020

in #neoxian4 years ago

@kingscrown is running a contest that had investment as one of the topics, and I liked the idea so I'm going to write about it.

This is probably not going to be the "normal" type of post, but I hope that it provides some longterm insight into your own investments.

My Investments

There are two areas that I spend time thinking about investing, they are time and money. Time is the hard one, we only have so much of it and we want to make the most of it.

Time

For me, I work to ensure that I am spending time in the right places. In 2019 I started to cull a lot of projects from my list and judging projects based on whether or not I was excited about them. This has expanded to include the type of clients that I am willing to work for and now the diversification in my business from just consulting to include more product based services.

The goal is to de-couple time and money so that I'm creating assets that I leverage with the time that I'm working.

Time in 2020

In 2020 my plan is to spend more time learning (taking courses and reading books) and to have as open a calendar as possible. I will facilitate this by choosing (and pricing) projects based on project length and value. I don't want to be tied into a project for more than 6 months, and if the timeline is longer I will include premiums to ensure that if it does extend it means I can take on fewer projects in the long run.

The open calendar will allow me the flexibity to take on those short, very interesting, projects as they come up without cutting into my learning and family time.

Money in 2020

This is where I'm guessing that @kingscrown thought most of the time would be spent.

My money investing is pretty straightforward and has the following flows:

  1. First, pay off any debt
  2. Second top up emergency fund (6months expenses)
  3. Invest based on the following
    1. 10% super safe
    2. 80% Index funds using an autobroker
    3. 10% high-risk speculative

The 10% supersafe is in cash savings. I don't make a lot of money on it, but it serves as an additional topup to my emergency fund. This savings are used for any short term purchase decisions like a vacation or new car.

The 80% is a mix of index funds that is auto-magically managed by Wealthsimple.

The 10% is broken up into mostly crypto currencies. Currently I'm holding BTC, ETH and ZEN. I've bought all the STEEM I plan to on exchange and added it to my wallet here. I even powered up most of it.

The 10% is higher than previous years, it used to be 5%, but I think that the entire crypto market is going to break out in 2020, so I am moving slightly to the risker side.

What does your investments look like?

Do you have a system, or do you actively manage your investments?

Sort:  

Congratulations @jeffmackinnon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!


Congratulations @jeffmackinnon!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66