Be the change that you want to see in the worldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #neoxian5 years ago (edited)

Write to inspire

It was one of the first quotes I read as I was starting off on my career as a professional writer. I remember my eyes bulging wide at the thought of truly inspiring large swathes of people with my words. The thought was daunting, yet intoxicating.

In my last job I was a Project Manager in a medium sized local charity. I oversaw the projects I was given under my remit. I had several; spanning across an entire district in some of the poorest areas in Britain. Some of what I have seen working at that place has been truly eye opening, and sometimes frightening. Yet that didn't stop me from inspiring hundreds, if not thousands of people.

I was made redundant from that job after three years. I remember when the CEO was nervous as he laid me off from my position -- he knew how much I loved and appreciated that place of work. I somewhat felt sorry for him because I was ready to go; I knew my pot of funding had shrivelled up like a prune -- and I was not naive in the sense that they could employ me forever. I was ready to start my next, new challenge.

I was well received in that place -- the work I did, and the people I helped get off their feet; we did some tremendous work the volunteers and I, but eventually it was my time to go. The end was nigh.

So I took to the internet.

The internet is a funny old place, and a place that I had to learn (often the hard way) to adapt the skills I already had into completely new ones. You see, people behaved in a different way over the internet, and social hierarchies were structured completely differently. It's weird at first but often once you find a place for yourself to sit and observe for a while it all becomes apparent.

See, I'm highly trained in social situations -- I can insert myself and nullify conflict without creating more conflict. I can suss out the flow of discussion and emotion just by sitting down and being present in a room. I can also sniff out social hierarchies and lead when I have to, and also take a back seat when I need to. My strengths are in communication, and my weaknesses are in trusting too much.

Take all of this; which I've a hundred percent relied on subtle body language, facial expressions, voice tone, and then place me in a situation where I can't see or hear the person in front of me -- the internet. And we're back to square one again. Knowing nothing. Zero, zilch. 

How can I inspire anyone when I don't know anything about them?

So I had to learn, and boy did I learn.

Did you know that people talk to be heard on the Internet? Something that took a while to work out, but most people use the internet as a gateway to vent. They aren't looking to be lectured, and most of the time they are just looking for a way to let off some steam because life sucks a bit, y'know? Facebook really cornered that market when they stated 

What's on your mind, Raymond?

Not,

Wonder what your friends are thinking today, Raymond? Check them out!

And through pandering to our innate selfishness as humans we became embroiled in a life of telling everyone what we think but not listening to anyone else, or at least not thinking about them when they disappear for a while. I've tested this theory out recently.

Some of us were lucky though. I know quite a lot of people that don't do Facebook because of the trashy mind-swill that it too often ends up being.

Media such as Facebook has convinced us that by sharing a post to your mates then you're being the change. But actually all that's doing is bringing those that agree with you closer, and those that disagree with you further away.

But if you're like me and want to effect change in the world, even if just a little teensy weensy bit. Touch one person. Then actions speak louder than words. 

I write lots, talk a big game I do. What's to stop me logging off and going off to drink Vodka shots off strippers belly's. I could do that -- you never know. People act differently when they switch off the computer. I've mostly found that one out the hard way.

But if you really want to affect change. Then be the change you want to see in the world. Log off and keep doing what you're saying you're doing. Follow through with your words. Like my Gran used to say,

"Talk is cheap Raymond, talk is cheap."

Sort:  

Always like your post....You have some talent I think.

Thank you! :) - I do, I try!

unvote...but why friend...?

I'm small user...but i will upvote your post.. because i like your post...thanks friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93