Nevermore: This Godless Endeavor - Epic song - RIP Warrel Dane

in #nevermore6 years ago (edited)

I posted about Warrel Dane's passing an epicly long post the other day. He was my favorite living male vocalist. I am not quite certain who the living person is yet that might gain my attention.

Anyway, I was listening to the song This Godless Endeavor today and it is pretty epic in every single way possible. The musician ship is second to none. The lyrics are awesome. The vocal performance is stellar.

I wanted to share a post just on this song. I'll give you links to a studio version of the song and put the lyrics in this post after that. Then I will provide a live version that a lot of people on youtube have been reacting to. This won't be a post beyond simply that. It's the weekend. :) I may add some comments in the lyrics.

This Godless Endeavor - 8:57

And on the open road we came to a sign
For it was foretold that the weak would inherit And nothing would change
Here we are at the crossroads, standing face to back
Still afraid to see our eyes I feel helpless and alone, trapped on the third stone

I really like the Third Planet from the sun reference in the "trapped on the third stone"

Godless are we

Godless are we

Sitting here sideways on a cold stone floor
My guitar gently bleeding and wanting more
When I heard a sound come rapping, Tapping on my door

As a guitarist those lyrics resonate heavily with me... great imagery

Hello, I'm happy to meet you
In your confidence is it safe?
Sit down I'm happy to greet you
To feed your greedy dog at the edge of the stage?
But before, before you slam the door
Tell me when, tell me why, tell me what this fucking life is for
We fly through this godless endeavor
We try to explain the black forever

I feel helpless and alone, trapped on the third stone

I feel permanently stoned, this godless endeavor the only cage I've known

That imagery and how it is put together I think is outstanding

Our organic equation has shown it's flaw
Can we agree to disagree on the concept of god?
As I lifted up my brother he said to me
"Abandon naive realism, surrender thought in cold precision"

Warrel referred to his brother in the song Brother on his Solo album, and from that I gathered his brother died from cancer, or at least he did in that song.

I feel empty and deranged, denied one last epiphany and ushered from the stage

Brilliant

Thou shalt not question, the role of science is not to eliminate god
As alternative gods multiply science stands accused of theocide
Consume, conform

No words necessary for that

The children sitting in the trees, they turn to laugh at me
They tell me that I'm insane, but in my mind I know I'm to blame
Alone within my lunacy, dementia fills the void within me
No testament, prayer or diseased lament can heal my wounds
They are so discontent

I have many different images that vie for a position in my mind when I consider those words.

All the faithful fall onto their knees
And praise the priests of industrial disease

Makes me wonder if any of these guys read Theodore Kacyzinski's Manifesto

We contemplate oblivion as we resonate our dissonance
In godless random interpretation
The universe still expands, mankind still can't understand
How to define you, so hide your face and watch us exterminate ourselves over you
Welcome to the end my friend, the sky has opened

Listening to this song made me think that Warrel Dane (Vocalist) now has the answer to some of the questions that weave throughout this song. Some day so shall we all.

Nevermore - This Godless Endeavor [Live] - 9:19

For this song we of course have the master Jeff Loomis (Guitars), but he is also joined by Chris Broderick(Guitars) who is also phenomenal. I believe some people have mentioned they are surprised a black hole did not form due to the weight of their combined epicness.

EDIT: For those of you interested that may have missed it I did a very lengthy post on Warrel Dane the other day when I learned of his death. Here is a link to that post if it interests you.

Warrel Dane R.I.P. (December 13th, 2017) - My favorite male vocalist died in Sao Paolo, Brazil on the 13th. I only learned today.

Sort:  

Truly his voice and song performance are very good

This really is the "bohemian rhapsody" of metal. Like, it's everything a proper metal song should be. I'm not a musician but by fuck the riffs, lyrics and drums in this are unparalleled.
Thanks for sharing..

I just don't see how this song can be topped?? I mean, what band even writes like this anymore.... Nevermore was and always will be in a league of their own, most herald Jeff Loomis but in my opinion Warrel Dane's lyrics and his delivery is just amazing to me..... no other frontman can even be in his realm.

Yeah. I am not often brought to tears. Yet listening to him some this week and knowing he is gone has brought tears to my eyes a number of times.

You are a good human. Spilling tears for someone else shows that.

I am moved by exceptionalism. It is one of the few things that brings me to tears. It often happens to me when watching liver performances.

@diabolika let me know of Dane's passing, and I have mourned since. Today, I noted I yet mourned, and then I see you do, also.

When I lament that all my most cherished die, and seek in vain for some new talent to replace them, I realize that none are replaced, and we all die. Mourn. That is appropriate, and our loss is their gain. Chris Cornell leaves a gap in between my ears, and Layne Staley, still.

Warrel Dane was a unique vocalist, I am sure his bandmates feel his lack more than we.

Thanks!

thanks for resteem

Sad to hear about Dane's passing. I saw Nevermore in concert around 13 or 14 years ago. They were one of the headliners at the New England Metal Fest in Worcester, Massachusetts. Really good band. I've been enjoying Loomis's work on the new Arch Enemy album. I don't remember if Broderick was in the band or not when I saw them, but I've seen him with Megadeth many times and that dude is pretty damn good.

My guitar gently bleeding and wanting more
When I heard a sound come rapping, Tapping on my door

As a guitarist those lyrics resonate heavily with me... great imagery

I think all guitarist can relate to that, powerful lyrics. Good song

this is so cool view! thanks for sharing..

Outstanding perfomance for bitcoin...
Thank's for sharing

good story..just keep sharing

So cool!!
Nice view!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66