Night Vision

in #new6 years ago

Night Vision

It is my earliest memory. My mother and I were having a picnic close to our home. The woods were green it must have been spring or early summer. I felt safe and was having fun then it all went surreal. I saw fear on my mother's face but before I could become afraid an invisible force hit us. It felt like a comforting wave of sleep, she and I fell. As I succumbed to unconsciousness i saw it standing by its craft. It held a device pointed toward us. The source of our sleep. I have a vague recollection of being moved as we slept and no more.
They came for me many times after. At night while I was sleeping they would gather around my bed. I would wake to fear and paralysis. I could see their large dark eyes and knew they would take me. I have no idea what they do to me or why they come. It has been many years now. I am a man and yet they still come. They make me feel tiny and helpless. I only wish for it to stop. I think I have found a way.
My sister and I have always been close. As we grew to become adults she developed an extreme fascination with wolves. I ask her about it but she never offered any real explanation. I was to learn the reason soon enough. It was late fall and I was visiting her at her home. Her and her husband lived in modest home very near a large wooded area. This night I was restless it was very late and I had not slept. I heard the back door open and then close. I looked out my bedroom window and saw a large dark figure race impossibly quickly from the back porch into the woods beyond. The hair on the back of my neck was standing straight up. Nothing can move that fast…..
I decided to go downstairs and look out the back window. I could not see anything moving in the yard. The back door was unlocked. I stepped outside and listened. It was a cold evening and I thought I could hear something moving in the distance in the woods. I stepped off the back porch into the yard and it came. Moving so fast I couldn't even raise my head to look before she hit me.
I woke in my sister's guest bedroom. There was blood on my shoulder and pain. She sat at the foot of my bed crying. She explained how she had attacked me by mistake. How she couldn't control herself completely when she was hunting. How she had been likewise bitten and transformed all those many years ago. Her wolf obsession suddenly made perfect sense.
I was cursed like her now. During the months that followed, with her help, I learned to partially control the beast within me. But tonight I would not hold it back. They had decided to come for me. A decision they would very soon regret. While they invaded my room gathering around my bed a lifetime of rage exploded inside me. As a man became a monster before them, I saw something in their large dark eyes I had never seen before…… FEAR….They try to escape but none make it more than a few steps. Their hubris has doomed them. A supernatural threat their science has no countermeasure to. Their destroyed bodies litter the floor. I feel no remorse for my actions as their remains slowly vanish. I realize this is far from over. I better call my sister.

Sort:  

Congratulations @archon2112! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archon2112! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69