Go green and join the challenge ! Decarbonise your car!

in #new8 years ago (edited)

My Carbon Car

Inspiration

I recently read about an insanely wicked commitment by the Norwegian government to ban all gasoline cars by 2025. Wow!

So you might think! Is this even remotely possible? Political will, will need to span the next 8-9 years, and sure the economy runs on oil, and there is talk of nuclear. That said, investment in renewables and Norway's brilliantly “unfair” fjords system for hydro, makes this statement still compelling. A brilliant one liner, if only to inspire the nation, the world as a possible green power exporter, you get the picture.

Decarbonise

Ok now the epiphany! Having recently driven my posh black Skoda, a sense of carbon disgust came over me. I felt at odds with this grand commitment. Sure it's not a gas guzzling, super tanker. I don't drive the car every day, but it still feels wrong! Or at the very least, I should have a plan to join in on this fantastical decarbonised future.

Collective action

Perhaps I should commit to owning an electric car by 2025. Perhaps people on steemit are also keen.

In full conscious it would need to charge from solar. What's the point of using a wall socket which could be made up of a potpourri of who knows what carbon choking muck! I say, if you have the caboodle, go for it! In my case however I would need to slowly chip away at this new bold vision.

The Plan

Using Tesla as a baseline (who else), a model 3, will cost 35k. I will also assume that battery and solar leasing will equate to my average spend on gasoline, or maybe I will power down and this will cover my costs, and maybe even maintenance.

Over the next 100 months, starting 19-Sep-16 till 19-Jan-2025, a nice round 350SD/month. Given my rate of income on steamit over the last month, this is achievable. Today is my 1 month anniversary. Ok so I’ve not adjusted for inflation or any interest, but this will just mean, you go carbon free earlier. Bonus!

Will you commit to a decarbonised future? What other collective action to a carbon free future can steemit drive. Would love to hear your stories.

Sort:  

CO2 is not a threat, it is necessary for plant growth. check it out:


please, think. please.

One day yes. For now i plan on giving up my car and taking up biking and walking!
Me and my gf also have a garden that we give free food away with when over abundant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66