Give The Bum a Dime!

in #newbie6 years ago

A while ago I was reading a book titled "The Voices Within Us: A Book of Hope" and wrote this about what happened.
It sounds like a little thing but this book struck me hard resounding in my soul that tears started to flow almost from the first page. I flew through the rest, stopping only to reflect and think about what was being relayed.

It was another awakening of self-truth and synchronicity.

I expected my prayers to be answered right away at one point in my life, and when they weren't I became discouraged, hopeless, and questioned this whole notion of a god.
The author pointed out, lack of patience is a lack of faith, lack of faith is a lack of trust, lack of trust is a lack of hope!

As I was reading a chapter titled Pay The Beggar. I remembered the time we were coming out of a Pink Floyd concert. There was a man with a cup held out, we made eye contact. I stopped and started opening my purse and my ex-husband with his nasty mouth says, "what are you doing? He's a scammer! Ya know you're a f-ckin' idiot!"

The other people we were with didn't give him a dime. Why would they lower themselves and look like fools? I knew my sister felt bad and wanted to give an almost did but, with her husband staring her down, there was no way she could.

I didn't care what anybody said or thought! I gave him a handful of change, then the man looks me straight in the eye and with a nod said:

"God Bless You!"

I was taken aback by those words. I was so touched I knew I did the right thing.
I never expected those words to come from him so strongly. At the time I was in a mindset that everything was a test. This was deeper than anyone could see with their eyes alone.

So I'm reading the book thinking of my experience, and it says "I gave the money to the beggar, and he said
"God Bless You!"
Uh! What? How does this happen? Tears start rolling again!

He then goes on to write about when he was walking his dog Bubba...Bubba? What? My dog's name was Bubba! What's going on here? Can I stop crying so I can see what I'm reading?

One day I was showing my neighbor all the interesting books I had so she could pick something out she wanted to read, and I came across the "The Lost Books of The Bible." I hadn't read that book for a while so I took it down to re-read.

Later that evening back to the book, the author says he was reading "The Lost Books of the Bible!" I was like what? Okay, it's happening again! And then, he mentioned reading "The Book of Mormon," which I also have read some of. How I got to own it is a whole other story.
I remembered two young Mormons coming to my house, and how they showed me a picture of Jesus asking me if I knew who he was? Oh, boy, I said to myself. Well, the author of this book also had mentioned the picture of Jesus they showed him!

I found this book on the author's page where he wrote a short story about his dog Bubba who died. So I sent him a message and told him that my dog's name was Bubba and was also deceased.

While reading his bio I saw he had written a book The Voices Within and bought it. I was just sorry I didn't buy the signed copy, which I didn't see until after I bought the first copy. I told Jim afterward of this and he sent me a signed copy at no charge. I gave the other book to my neighbor Mary! (I'm not religious but, spiritual of my own making.)

The whole thing makes me sure that my angels guided me toward this book. Because the message I got was loud and clear as to what I was doing with my prayers. (pleads for help in a dire time of my life, expecting instant results from an outside source when it was all up to me to change.)
Jim Stewart an elderly man who helps the homeless is on facebook.
The Voices Within Us: A Book of Hope

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67167.98
ETH 3674.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76