Why #newbieresteemday Could Use Your 500 SP - And How I Suggest You Distribute It

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago (edited)

The Launch

Yesterday was the launch of the Newbie Resteem Initiative: Its Here - Its Launched ... Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative). And wow what an exciting day it was!

This great idea was conceived and is managed by @mudcat36. And I immediately decided to throw my efforts behind supporting him. For details: The Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative.

While I'm not surprised the interest in the program was positive, I am blown away by the speed at which people decided to adopt it. We had many posts of people making the day their #newbieresteemday in order to help out newbies! On top of that we had massive demand for the resteems and an overwhelming response from the newbie community. All from a "cold start" with absolutely no preparation (other than me and @mudcat36 talking about the concept).

In fact, my post in less than 24 hours had been viewed 223 times and upvoted 59 times! And this doesn't even count all the other posts announcing the new initiative (see the hashtag #newbieresteemday). And while we did manage to get a $12.60 upvote, more than $10 came from one whale @surpassinggoogle who I had sent a quick message telling him about it.

Think about that for a second... that means we got 58 upvotes worth about $2.60 out of a total of 222 views (I took out our benevolent whale)... That is some serious interest in the newbie community, I can say that because of the views and the upvote rate was very high (obviously we are the ones with the lack of "punch" to our votes so the upvote total is meaningless). But make no mistake, just read the comment section and you will see organic enthusiasm from the community both newbie and slightly higher minnows too. I can't imagine if a few whales start to pay attention to it and then we would be off to the races. The initiative is exciting and needed for sure!

Why I'm Writing This Post

One of our early adopters and a new "founding member" @plushzilla brought to my attention a way to get some STEEM delegated to our cause. He told me of a contest where @suesa was delegating 500 SP to the winner of the contest: Do you want 500 SP Delegation?... Isn't it great when other's quickly try to help you? (Note: its a credit the the "concept" not to any individual, that he would've thought to bring it to my attention)

So I decided to "compete" for the delegation of SP in hopes of furthering our new initiative. I thought, wouldn't it be great if we could have @mudcat36 get the voting power that 500 SP more would provide him? In fact I thought, wouldn't it be great if we could even convince @suesa to give a few more of us some SP to encourage the newbies with our resteems. So I set out to write this post in hopes of appealing to our cause.

The Contest Objectives By @suesa

From her post in her own words:

"I want to delegate the 500 SP to Minnows who will improve the Steem community. Be it with their posts, their actions, their commitment or by attracting new users."

"Furthermore, I encourage everyone with a higher SP to do something similar. With Steem price rising and the user base increasing, there are more and more users with very little SP, even if they invest. If we want them to stay, we need to give them more impact on the platform."

These words are very powerful to someone who just launched a new program. From @mudcat36's article, "This is the first post for the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative, we are an initiative aimed at strengthening the Steemit platform by promoting and supporting new users in their first month on Steemit."

Coincidence or fate? I know where I stand ;)

What We Would Do With The Delegated 500 SP

I am just a partner in this project, and as such I am just one voice. But I would suggest that we would use the delegated SP to upvote as many posts as possible that are resteemed by our participants by using their feeds. That's a mouthful, lol.

A quick explanation of how the project works for those that don't have time to read our posts about #newbieresteemday.

These are the 6 things you really need to know:

#1 Its a way for anyone who wants to help newbies learn, get noticed, and grow.
#2 Its easy to do, you just decide on a day of the week that you want to help newbies.
#3 Make a "master post" for the day inviting people to recommend a newbie's post to be resteemed (note: they just put the link in your comment section). See my example at #newbieresteemday
#4 Encourage anyone to suggest a link to you, and you will read and make suggestions; and of course resteem it in support. We want to encourage and train at the same time, so this action is a natural way to do so effectively.
#5 ALWAYS tag your daily "master post" with #newbieresteemday so that others can also go to that tag and easily find and support newbies with resteems and suggestions too.
#6 Spread the word. Encourage your followers in comments to join us and work together. @mudcat36 has a goal of 15 founding members, I have a goal that is much higher than that. I know at least 15 of my friends that will support this and do it (you know who you are) ;)

So by giving delegation of STEEM to @mudcat36 you will give him some power to reward and encourage all 6 of these activities. Helping the newbies is obvious, but also encouraging the other members of steemit with upvotes can also send a strong and powerful reinforcing signal to ANYONE who helps the cause. By having some SP behind the upvote, it will just give the cause more power to move quicker.

My example from yesterday. I have a whopping 32 SP and was limited on what I could upvote yesterday. I drained my "voting power meter" down to 70% (I normally keep it at 85% or more so that I can get the $0.01). There were many great comments and things I wanted to highlight further, but my only real tool was the comment section (I only have so many votes). I was online from the moment I lauched my introduction until 1:40 am and I still had many unanswered replies. If I had greater SP, I could've used the upvote button a little more, and my words just a little less. It would've enabled me to reach more people because there is only so much time in the day. (Please note: I love to comment, but I don't ever want to leave weak comments because to me its shows lack of respect. So without upvotes as a efficient way to show that respect, then my only tool is to write a genuine response to each worthy comment)

So to sum up, there is many ways in which delegated SP could be used and it would depend on how much we received as to what we would do with it. While we plan on making the initiative successful anyways (I didn't even know that programs like this existed 24 hrs ago), with the help from the larger steemian community we could move things much faster. We don't mind doing the work either way, so any attention in ANY form will help our efforts to go a long way.

Having said that...

My Suggestion For The Best Use For Only 500 Delegated Steem

While everything I said above is true, if I am limited to "only" 500 SP, then I have to make a choice as to what is the "best use" of that limited delegation for our cause. I would first want to beef up the 2 tools that are invaluable to our efforts. Without them and what they do for us "smaller" players, I'm not sure we could get any traction.

The first tool is @originalworks and I use them to recognize the newbie's post on any link I resteem (95% of the time they don't know about it). This not only is valuable because it gets "some action"on the post, but it also teaches subliminally the newbie how to use @originalworks in the future (which spreads that message very effectively). By giving newbies this tool it helps them with their confidence, helps them to learn how to help others, and generally teaches them to come up with "good content". I would award them 250 of that delegated STEEM because they need to be strong to handle the new workload we have planned for them. ;)

The second tool is @resteemable and I also use them to recognize the newbie's post on any link I resteem (99.99% of the time the newbie doesn't know about it). This is valuable because they not only "upvote" the posts, but they ALSO resteem it to a much larger base than any of us have. I have noticed some serious activity when I summon @resteemable to the rescue. They are very valuable to our efforts because they "multiply" our message that we are here to aid the newbie through the use of resteeming. In addition, while I have amassed 2500 followers in my first month, many others have not focused on getting that large of a following. Sometimes they think they won't do much good by resteeming a newbie for a day because they only have 50 or a 100 followers. Well @resteemable solves that problem because every person who volunteers to share their feed for a day encouraging newbies, can have some punch thanks to @resteemable. I would also award them 250 of that delegated STEEM because they really need to be strong to handle the new workload as we get bigger.

My Other Suggestions For Delegated STEEM (and for bigger fish in general)

There is 2 other services that are very helpful for us newbies that I would also consider delegating STEEM to if I were bigger than I am. These services do the same thing and they are the upvote services that give an actual return on the investment of SBDs (and I'm also evaluating a few more too). The first is @bumper and they are consistently providing us newbies a 3x your SBD for an upvote. The second is earthnation-bot and they are providing a 5x return of upvote to SBD investment.

This is important because the newbies can grow their power by using their meager SBD to either grow their own SPs faster or to reward others with a bigger punch. Both of these outcomes are positive for the steemit community. For example, I was able to launch a contest by using a small amount (0.5 SBD) to upvote the post which increases the prize pool.

If you notice, I had 45 upvotes but without the use of these services the prize pool wouldn't have broke $0.20. And therefore I wouldn't have had the participation of 54 comments and 147 views. Simply put, I wouldn't have been able to do another contest until I got a lot bigger and you would be missing my small contribution to the place we can be. We (the smaller guys/gals) need more support and @bumper and @earthnation-bot provide us this support that is very effective and it helps us to get more engaged. So while I am making suggestions on what you "bigger fish" should do with your excess STEEM, I recommend this area and these 2 services as very effective ways to help the smaller community assimilate into the steemit community faster.

Finally I have one last suggestion to all the dolphins and whales out there. And I say this with all due respect to where you are in the system and what you have managed to achieve before I got here just 28 days ago. I recognize the beauty of the design and the "virtuous loop" that is created by the rules you have devised and adhere to.

But while I have seen first-hand the generosity and thoughtfulness of many of you, as a group I think you can do a lot more to help us newbies out and encourage us. I guess there must be thousands of you out there and you can really be a force if you follow @suesa's lead and engage us directly. It would mean a lot if you can stop by every so often and look at the #introduceyourself tab and not only upvote the new newbie, but also read the comments and see who is "doing the right thing" for the steem ecosystem. And this applies to many common posts out there too. We don't get seen much because we rarely have a trending article, so to find us you can use the pages of our resteems in this initiative to find many decent "small fish" to develop. I see so many comments out there offering tips and encouragement that if I were a whale, I would be rewarding and encouraging with my upvotes. Again, I'm not criticizing, I'm just offering a constructive view from my limited and humble experiences here for the purpose of maybe helping to illuminate how we can work together to make steemit even better than it already is.

It isn't easy to "get noticed" around here, I'm a professional with 30 years of experience as a "grown-up" in the real world with lots of confidence and understanding; and I have a challenge to be seen. (And its not from lack of talking because I've average almost 100 comments a day). ;) So just imagine how a shy little newbie feels? I can promise you that the more you either 1) engage yourself or 2) get someone like "us" to engage for you, the faster the development and broadening of the base will occur. This is exactly the purpose behind #newbieresteemday, to encourage and motivate the smaller players to get involved by helping the newbies. They become the teachers, the coaches, the motivators, the mentors, and the role-models for a new generation of newbies. If you support our initiative (in any of the 6 ways listed above) you will be efficiently encouraging a whole cadre of steemit enthusiasts that are motivated to make a difference.

I hope you support our effort in any way that suits you. We are all on the same team and you have some very good players in the bullpen ready to help. Please consider this long and wordy post as constructive, it is something that is truly heartfelt. We want to succeed "with you" and use this system that we are a part of to make a difference in lots of people's lives.

I want to thank @suesa for giving us a chance to win some delegated SP, but more importantly I want to thank her for taking the time and effort to help us to broaden our reach. It is messages like this, that make me get up and write this on only 4 hours of sleep.

I know we have an enthusiastic following out there for this project and I hope you (my fellow steemians) use your resteem to get this message "out there" and the comment section to send your own message out to the larger community. This is a tremendous opportunity for you to also thank @suesa and to let your feelings be known about the issues we are discussing in this post. So don't be shy and get your voice heard. ;)

As always, be humble... and

Sort:  

Thanks @davemccoy for this initiative. I really appreciate everyone for supporting me in my latest post.

My regards @apiprincz

I'm glad we can help... spread the word and when you grow up I hope you come over and pay back the favor to the new class of newbies!

Very innovative and good idea. I am a steemit user starting in December. I tried to convince some German people of my adhd facebook group to give steemit a try. But it is really difficult to establish your steem power. So your idea is a good way to help us.

Thank you and that is the goal... of course people are still going to have to learn how to engage and interact, but if they get some extra encouragement in the first month, it will help in my opinion. Thanks for the comment @martinwinkler and if you want to do anything from just suggesting posts from a newbie to be resteemed to putting up you own "ATTENTION NEWBIES: Send A Link To Me And I'll Resteem It", I welcome you to support/join the #newbieresteemday initiatve. Cheers

Superb post, I ran out of bandwidth resteeming the people that asked me to, at 17 sp it is hard not to it seems.

lol... You are doing great @deliberator... And just so you know, the bandwidth issue doesn't have anything to do with anything you did. It is a function of how much steem power you have and how constrained they make the system depending on user demand. It seems to be out in my mornings, but is usually ok the rest of the day. So don't worry about resteeming or anything else for that matter... You didn't break it ;)

If you are going to make today another #newbieresteemday then make sure you do a fresh post and let everyone know... I see we have 2 up for the day so far... And it would probably be a good idea to date it so the people know... Again I'm happy to have you on board and you are doing a wonderful job!!!

ok noted on the bw issue, thanks regards compliments, and if 2 people are doing it today, I will take the day off from it, and do it tomorrow or the day after, starting from morning time rather than evening time, cheers :-)

Good to see you back at helm @davemccoy. I'm thinking about launching a contest for a logo. Thoughts? I'm also in the process of putting together a write up in Spanish and English for new users explaining keys. The Spanish one may take me another hour or so. I speak Spanish after living in Spain for over a year and though speaking is easy, writing is tough and to be grammatically correct most online translation services that would make it move quicker are... well, useless. I want the write up to cross the language barrier and attract more users from the Spanish speaking world to our effort therefore I feel it must be of good quality. I have a close friend who speaks Italian who has offered to help me in translating write ups as well. I should be setting up a coffee morning with her over the weekend for help there, so we can take our initiative to our Italian cousins on Steemit. Hope you had a great rest and I'm at the key board tonight (as I have been all day) ready to brainstorm and push our effort.

I like both ideas a lot... We could use the SBD proceeds from the contest post to pay out the winner of the logo contest... and get an "official" logo out of it too :) ... And yes I think the translation is a great idea and I'm sure one of our filipino friends will be interested in doing the same with their language too. I can't remember who is in or out yet, but I know @wanderlass is using today as her #newbieresteemday and she is connected to many filipinos and @beeyou and @qyugmo might be able to help with that effort.

ps I finally realized that when you tag someone in your post they don't get it (unless they have more sophisticated software)... So reach out to each of them and they will be very helpful... I never recommend someone unless I think I have a pretty good idea of how they think.

pps... we will talk later about the other issues, but I am way way behind in replying to my "replies"....

ppps... I hope you liked this entry, hopefully we can get you some SP to incentivize people

Awesome. I appreciate your influence here. You clearly are gifted at structuring initiative and I trust your judgement implicitly. I'm going to scoff down my dinner then jump straight back on the keyboard so I'll be about if you want to shout.

also had a conversation with looksfarwoman down below near bottom... I think we should also try another method of getting to the newbies. I think there are some people that want to help but only want to put up resteems of people they like vs an automatic thing. There might be a way to use this as a positive too and I explained it to her as a "scout" program. Basically someone who goes out and finds 10 to 20 newbies and resteems them and get to know them a little better. My thoughts are to experiment a little with the different personalities and see if we can have several types of helpers within the program to give us some flexiblity and sort have a way that each person can help in their own way. To do this we need some pioneers and looksfarwoman would be good at this (if she wants to try it)... any ways just giving you a heads up so that you and her can be on the same page...

and btw, feel free to kick me out anytime you want....lol... I am a bull in a china shop at times, but its just the way I am when I see something that we can do and succeed at.

Also I think we need to consider the financial parts of this in the next couple of days. I will certainly send the sbds that i make from my post to the newbies, and I think you have reflected you would do the same (or something close to that)... We can distribute it through hitting posts with upvotes or just giving prizes to the best of type thing. Another thing to consider is giving the "founding partners some leeway on what they do with the money they get with their posts"... for instance one of the guys want to resteem 3 of the best each day and he will split his prize money among those 3 best he selects. I personally like to see experimentation, but I think you should be aware of when it happens and make sure you are ethically agreeable to his (or anyone's plan). It was the guy with the black and white pic with a mustache... He is a delightful guy and I'm sure its no problem, but I wanted to give you a headsup so that you can make that decision for your self.

Ok I'm off to get to some messages but this page is done...

Wouldn't dream of kicking you off the effort sir. Your input and participation is incredibly valuable to the effort of making Steemit a supportive strong eco system. I have contacted all the people you have mentioned and eagerly await their responses.

What do you think about me designing a website as a landing site for those who wish to support this initiative? I have reviewed the SMT white paper in regards to designing tokens on Steemit and I believe we could integrate a smart token that would offer incentives to experienced users to support new users by engaging them and supporting their content. The technical side of this is still in its infancy but I do have at my disposal the resources to launch something along these lines when the Steemit Smart Token option is launched this year and the frame work for this can be hammered out starting now. You asked me to think big picture so I'd like to know your thoughts on this?

Signing off for the night sir as it's 1 a.m here. I'll be right back at it tomorrow though. The contest and keys guide is up for you to take a look at and if you see anything that could use an edit then let me know. :)

Here is a convo with @charisma777 regarding what it will take to secure other delegations of steem to your project... I suggested that she and you work it out because frankly I'm too soft on people, I'm a yes guy and I realize that. There is a balance and I think you and charisma777 both have the intelligence to set reasonable boundaries and communicate them to potential steem donors (and she would be good at hunting them down IMO)... here is the convo and the thread is a few lines below if you want the context.

I had confidence in you @charisma777 :) ... I will pass that info on to @mudcat36 so that he and you can discuss figuring out what will make them comfortable... I'm a pretty big teddy bear when it comes to seeing the "good" in people so I'm sure my standards would be too lax. Maybe you and mudcat can find something that you 2 agree with. I trust both of your tastes in quality balanced with your desire to help the newbies. I'll hop in if you need me, but I think you two are more qualified than me on this (rules weren't ever something I liked following) ;)

And again, that is if you want to get involved... I honestly don't want to push you and mudcat if either of you object. My goal is the integrate and connect the people that I believe have certain capabilities and temperaments.

I'll also copy and past this thread to mudcat so that he also is aware of the conversation....

As always charisma, you are awesome and I thank you very much for your efforts.

What a great idea. I like it a lot. Like the most of us, I'm a newbie too, not quite two weeks in. But I am absolutely convinced that engagement is the way to 'mitigate' my newness. Like you I don't have many votes, but I'll give what I can.

I'll take Thursday, it's a day I can remember.

Thanks davemccoy and mudcat for this. I really appreciate it!

Awesome @bigtom13 that is fantastic... I look forward to you being a part of this... Also since you are still in "newbie" status, feel free to use our collective power and send us some links to resteem... I saw 2 for sure today over on the #newbieresteemday hashtag... one was @wanderlass and the other was @ilovepoorpeople... Let's keep this going and thank you in advance for stepping up!!!

@davemccoy have you ran any of these thoughts to @themarkymark he is the owner of the @buildawhale maybe he would delegate to the cause? Just a suggestion, not sure how that all works, but I know from what I have read on his postings this seems like something he would encourage.

Great idea my awesome friend charisma777... :) ... Now here's what I'm thinking... I need someone of your intelligence, wit, and writing skills to help me with such awesome ideas. I think you can follow my lead and go talk to @themarkymark directly... In fact, I'm sure he would rather see your face than mine ;) ... You know what you are doing and have the full backing to make the pitch... In fact you can even reference this post and what @suesa is doing for her contest...

I would normally feel like I may have made someone uncomfortable "assuming" they would be up for such a challenge, but in your case I have a hunch that you are up for the task. Its a good idea and you can be just as valuable as me in this initiative, because like I've told you many times before, you have some serious skills.

are you ok? Can you reach out to him? Did I butter you up enough??? lol

Seriously, let me know if you can do it, if you're busy with work I understand... I don't want anyone to get fired over this!

Great idea either way... And whether I contact him or you do, I'm always thankful that you are watching over and thinking of ways to help!!!

Let me know :)

*her, I'm a woman

I'm so sorry @suesa... I looked all the way back to your initial profile to find out. And I couldn't find anything that said which it was and your profile pic is indeterminate. I will go edit the post right now... My apologies and it wont happen again.

It's fine, it happens at least twice a day ^^

phewwww... that's a rookie mistake on my part... glad I'm forgiven :D

btw, if you really want to gauge the sentiment, check out yesterday's introduction of it... I haven't been able to get to a lot of replies yet, but you can see the sentiment in the comment section.. lots of passion, lots of excitement...

Here's the link to make it easy for you to find it:

https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@davemccoy/its-here-its-launched-come-join-us-newbie-resteem-initiative

I think I got them all... Again I apologize... thanks for correcting me (and I feel foolish)... but on the bright side, that means you are reading what is going on here and I'm thankful for that. Even if we don't get any help with this, I still think it is awesome that you would take your time and not only read the post, but also hit the comment sections.

Thank you from your embarrased new fan :O

I'm reading all entries and every time I'm mentioned, I'll see :P After all, I want to know what's going on!

haha that's cool... I know how to get to you now :) ... I'm very happy you are reading the comments, I hope you see some of the awesome people we have coming up through the ranks.

You need a bot. Your avatar is not enough.

apparently ^^

I definitely will try my best, I have messaged on discord, but not sure if it will be seen, you know they are probably getting messages every second of the day lol. I also asked, in the chatroom and from what I'm told there are many other groups looking for delegation, I was told we need to let the people know what type of posts are going to be resteemed, basically the person delegating wants to know that their money isn't just being put on someone that is abusing the pool. Which is completely understandable...but either way, I see that this is definitely off to a good start, so keep on #resteeming @davemccoy I am still going to keep trying, I'm a determined soul!

I had confidence in you @charisma777 :) ... I will pass that info on to @mudcat36 so that he and you can discuss figuring out what will make them comfortable... I'm a pretty big teddy bear when it comes to seeing the "good" in people so I'm sure my standards would be too lax. Maybe you and mudcat can find something that you 2 agree with. I trust both of your tastes in quality balanced with your desire to help the newbies. I'll hop in if you need me, but I think you two are more qualified than me on this (rules weren't ever something I liked following) ;)

And again, that is if you want to get involved... I honestly don't want to push you and mudcat if either of you object. My goal is the integrate and connect the people that I believe have certain capabilities and temperaments.

I'll also copy and past this thread to mudcat so that he also is aware of the conversation....

As always charisma, you are awesome and I thank you very much for your efforts. :)

I am making today my #newbieresteemday . Love the concept

Very cool @ilovepoorpeople... I saw you say that yesterday... That is an awesome thing to do and I'm happy to have you onboard my man!!! Keep up the good work :)

I don't have a huge following, but I'm definitely in. I'm about to have an uncharacteristically early night (too much Steeming), so I'll get my teeth into this tomorrow. Outstanding work as usual @davemccoy. @originalworks

I was think that a good thing for you to do would be our "scout"... that is a person that spends a day looking for newbies with talent, instead of just resteeming the people that come to us... You have a good personality and are a good judge of character (except you think I'm funny)... so if you looked through the new introductions and found people we could cultivate and nurture then that may be another area that this could help with. I don't know where it would lead, but I think having several different ideas running with separate people will get us the widest range of possible plans for the future. Frankly, I think scouting is kinda fun and I'd be interested in hearing from you whether or not it was productive or not (what it takes, how long it takes to get to 10, 20 or so newbies in a day... Also you could use the resteem idea on them and tell them they "qualify" because they have an excellent introduction... Basically experiment and be free to be your self... If you can't have fun at it, then it will be a waste of a day, but if you like it and its productive then we could get far more people to reach out in this fashion.

ok... I know this is a bit wordy... I missed you today... I have been jammed for the last 2 days, can't wait to sit back and go watch our sitcom reruns again :)

ps and if I am out of bounds in suggesting the ways I think you would help out best, just disregard them. I tend to throw out my opinions and see where they go. But I respect you and would only want you to do what you think is the best way for you.

ok my fingers are tired.. lol :) (hope you sleep well)

Great idea my funny friend. I shall get onto this tomorrow and see what I unearth. I shall kick over the rocks of endless selfies and stolen photos, I shall climb the mountains of vote for votes and I shall seek the grail of talented bloggers and fetch them to the noble and exalted group of the Knights of Steemit! Onward my trusted Steem search for the glory of all!!!! 🤔

Wish Granted! plus $.33 upvoted.
Ty for reaching out!
Love, Lila-Wish-Genie

thanks again lila :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73