Monday Chick Update

chicks 5.13 old box eating.jpg

Here are the ladies! This is their first box apartment; it's an efficiency model! lolol It was fine at keeping them together, and warm; and, I eventually got quite quick at changing out the padding...I change it like a baby's diaper would be changed, several times a day. So, I HAD to get better at it! They gradually got the hang of it, too, moving to one end so I could change out the first side, then to the clean side while I'd swap out side two. And, yes, soon as I'd put in the new, fresh poop! sigh

They've been here since the morning of May 9th, and we did lose two, in the first two days, when the adjustment is critical. When you're getting chicks in the mail, they don't all always survive the stress of being shipped. These guys are all pretty spry and full of vigor! What? The PVC pipe? That's for perching practice. Or poop aiming practice, whatever!

The heat lamp is clamped onto the ledge of my small fireplace, so they can't get to it. They've never once huddled up in the warm part of the 'room', preferring to snuggle up at the farthest end from the heat source. And their quiet, almost conversational tone, peeping generally doesn't disturb the sleep. That lets me know that they're comfortable. If they were chilly, they'd be making more noise, and huddling together.

chicks 5.13 old box.jpg

Our first flock is a combination of Barred Rock Pullets, Buff Orpington Pullets and Ameraucana Pullets. These ladies came from Ideal Poultry in Cameron, Texas. I was able to select how many I wanted of each, which was important to me, as I have to start out with a small flock, and gradually bring my chicken math into play! A lot of other places, you have to order a minimum of 25 of one type; and that wasn't going to work, for me. They actually shipped a baker's dozen. I read that often, a free male is sent 'for warmth' on the trip. But it could be a pullet. Time will tell. All five of that breed survived...I'm thinking they're the Buff Orpingtons, as they're heftier than the others. But, as this is my virgin run at chicken keeping, I could be entirely wrong!

chicks 5.14 made the top of the water towr.jpg

So, anyway, these crazies woke me up at 3:00 this morning, doing flight practice! Yes, flight practice at 3 a.m.! I peeked in and they were trying to fly up the wall. At least 3 of them were taking turns running and flapping against the back wall. There wasn't enough room for those kinds of carrying on, so I resolved to get them switched to 'the big house' today. To get them to go back to sleep. I changed their 'diapers' and gave them fresh water. After several sips, they went back to sleep.

And this morning, this happened! Yep, this little chicken nugget managed to fly to the top of the water tower! These were the little critters keeping me up! Well, that's the sign! Big House, it'd have to be!

chicks 5.14 big house.jpg

With the help of Sophie, my grand-baby, we taped down a bottom layer of padding to my floor. It's all wood and tile here, no carpet to speak of, so the padding will slip about if it's not on a similar surface. The top layers will be as easy to change as they'll just roll up and lift out, again, in sections, with the chickies moving to the other side during the swap out. I set the food on the side nearest the wall, hoping it'll discourage night flights at shadows unknown.

chicks 5.14 big house 2.jpg

They seem to be enjoying the extra running room! Within minutes, they were running back and forth, and trying out those cute, tiny wings! I swapped out the PVC for natural branches from the back yard, for their practice perches. Found one sitting on one, literally, but I laughed, and she got embarrassed and moved, so I couldn't get a picture! Another fell asleep with her head on the stick, like a pillow...silly chickies! The rest were scattered about, all completely crashed out for naptime!

And, with that, my friends, it's time to check the gardens. We'll chat again soon, and until then, everybody keep on Steemin' on!

Oh, and don't tell Sophie I called her 'baby'...she always says she's NOT a baby, she's a BIG girl!


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

I just want to hold them all!!! ❤️

They're getting big quickly! I'm loving being a chicken mom!

Of course, somebody had to stand on top of the waterer!

King of the Mountain! They crack me up. He had this surprised expression, like 'did I do that?'

Arent baby chicks the cutest!? They will be grown and outside before you know it. I bet you cant wait till you are getting eggs from these girls!

I have a feeling there will be many more to come...feeling my chicken math ! They've been well behaved since the big house, and I would be very willing to do this chickie mama thing again!

Haha that chicken math will get ya! Just wait till they are old enough to have their own babies, then there will be chickens out the wazoo! :D

We'll call that chicken algebra!

Indeed! It gets crazier as time goes by.
Then you can factor in things like people giving you chickens they are tired of, neighbors moving away and abandoning chickens, and then the random hen that just decides to join the flock.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T21:12:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 391.75/200.00
Total Photos: 66
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56