Did You Know Facebook Was Down? - Don't Keep All Your Eggs In One Basket!

in #news5 years ago (edited)

Did you know Facebook was down? Well, I didn't! It's not only that I am that rarely on Facebook but moreover seems like I'm living on another planet, maybe even some another galaxy or at least in some different parallel universe.

Facebook down - Facebook outage Illustration from Pixabay. Credits to Hermann for facebook-logo, used under the Pixabay license.

The thing is that I experienced some difficulties with WhatsApp (missed calls, several hours delayed messages arrival, etc.). I'm using WhatsApp regularly to talk and exchange messages with my younger son who is living abroad. But I thought it's just another crazy bug and app glitch or maybe even I really didn't hear the call or the sound of the message arrival.

I also peripherally noticed, as I still have some old notification program or app set on my PC (which I mainly ignore) that the last few days I kinda wasn't that much bugged and annoyed with those notifications. Of course, this still didn't ring the bells for me. Why should it be? I wasn't bothered by someone's profile picture being changed, newly uploaded photo or shared some third party post.

Instagram and WhatsApp Own derivative work with illustrations from Pixabay. Credits to ElisaRiva for icon-network, and 3085097 for whatsapp, both used under the Pixabay license.

Yesterday late afternoon or early evening I noticed the return of those notifications with extreme intensity. Over a sudden, there was a whole bunch of a new friend's suggestions and a horde of uploads, shares, and stats changes of my current Facebook friends. It still didn't ring my bells! I thought they all went crazy most likely because of the atmospheric conditions and sudden weather changes (almost overnight for over 10°C or even 15°C) from cold to hot.

Today I received an entirely different topic newsletter inside which Facebook's outage has been mentioned what made me curious enough to Google it and see what's going on.

Not only Facebook! - Instagram and WhatsApp too!


Facebok is Down - Top Stories Screenshot from Google Search for "Facebook is down."

Oh my, oh my! What did I find there? - Tons of articles and videos posted just in the last three days about the event. I still didn't research deep and wide enough to be sure what was real reason and cause of the Facebook downtime, but without any doubt, it was huge and quite unpleasant (for some even highly costly) that impacted many.

As far as I understood the whole thing started two days ago on March 13, 2019. Although there are some claims about how it was only 2 to 3 hours long outage, it seems that for some users around the world it's still down.

Facebok is Down - Videos Screenshot from Google Search for "Facebook is down."

Some users also reported how they could log in but are not being able to post, message or make any changes on their accounts. In other words, Facebook's main interaction and engaging functionalities are out, and users can only come and read or watch what is already there, without the possibility to like/dislike, comment, share or else.

Great! Am I surprised? - Not really!

For me, it has never been IF something like that would happen but only WHEN it's going to happen. I was always convinced that it's just a matter of time, nothing else.

Divider 15a

Don't keep all your eggs in one basket!


Not wanting to be some bad times prophet or even less being some conspiracy theory fan or advocate, I still can't get rid of the feeling that this is just a beginning and only a tip of an iceberg!
As always, time will show!

Login Illustration from Pixabay. Credits to achinverma for login-register, used under the Pixabay license.

Way more important, I would like to draw your attention onto the following.

My older son was always teasing me because on one side, through time, I gained a lot of computer and Internet knowledge and skills, quite significantly above my generation, that even they (my kids) who are more or less the children of the digital era still asking my advice for many things.

On the other side, he didn't understand, as he called it, my old-fashioned stubbornness and sticking to some old methods which appeared to him just like some unnecessary "detour," double work, and above all waste of time. I would say, he likes more the easy or even lazy shortcuts.

The things I'm talking about, for example, are making hard copies of important things or not using commonly offered shortcut registrations or logins through Facebook, Google or similar, or at least not using it as the only afterward available option.

It turns out that those last few days when Facebook was down, as well as its associated apps Instagram and Whatsapp, along the way goes all those sites and apps people were using Facebook to sign in to. And that's a huge and most horrifying part!

warning-attention Illustration from Pixabay. Credits to geralt for warning-attention, used under the Pixabay license.

Therefore, I want to alert, remind or encourage you to keep in mind such unwanted outcomes (no matter, how unlikely it may seem to happen to you at some point) and be prepared!

  • Make hard copies of all the important things to you!
  • Make your own backups (accessible offline)!
  • Use at least two different registration/signup and log-in options (whenever it's possible)!

And last but not least...

Don't keep all your eggs in one basket, and especially not in someone else's basket!



P.S.
If you check current stats at DownDetector.com, you would see that Facebook in the last 24 hours is still dealing with some issues.

Divider 15b

Posted on Friday, March 15, 2019


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges - 2 Years on Steemit

Sort:  

This post has received a 8.65 % upvote from @boomerang.

@ana-maria purchased a 16.55% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You got a 5.76% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @ana-maria!

Hi @ana-maria!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.465 which ranks you at #2119 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2122).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 210 contributions, your post is ranked at #191.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank goodness I no longer is a Facebook addict. I didn't even notice it nor felt it haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94