Sort:  

Do you think that it might just feed into a higher price for bail?
I read an article once that showed bail prices climbing because of a thriving bail bond industry(and that bail is merely another form of government extortion)
So wouldn't the "market" reaction to incoming dollars from this app be to increase bail?
It happened with college tuition. Free money poured in and prices went up.
I think having to post bail is a really crummy spot to be in, and I think most people in that spot are in need of help(because they don't deserve the extortion). I just worry about the fact that the money goes straight to government.
I don't have an "answer" for the problem of bail. I just see natural patterns well(Since, I don't believe in statism).
Maybe there could be an app that gives money to the individuals who choose not to post bail? Or one that connects non-violent victims of government with community support for jobs and getting back on their feet?

I appreciate your work and am glad you are giving me another reason to spend time on steemit.

I was just thinking that.
Readily providing bail just makes the courts want to charge more for bail.

Fighting against an unjust court system, and bloated government, is the real solution.

The system is out of control and geared toward generating revenue. Imagine paying a lawyer $5000 to fight a $200 fine. What would you do?
Edit: choose carefully; if you pay the fine the arrest record stands and could cost you more than $5000 in the long run. On the other hand, hiring the lawyer is no guarantee that you'll win your case.

This. Is. AWESOME. Resteeming! Thanks for getting the word out about this app, I am absolutely going to check it out and download it. I agree that the money bail system contributes to the corruption of the system, the stories of kids like Kalief break my heart. This system is NOT fair and it destroys lives and families. I am glad ot be able to hopefully help contribute towards its' eventual END.

I live in South Africa and was not aware of how bad the situations is, shocking that this has become a flourishing industry! I think the initiative by Troy Wilson is a good one and I hope that it is something that people will support. Is this app only available for American citizens?

Great news about this app. I hope it's a success. I live in the UK and in many respects our prison system is going the way of the US's, with increasing prison privatisation and prisoners providing cheap labour for profit-making firms that compete against other businesses. It's an iniquitous industry, and it's an outrage that our tax money is used to support it.

I agree, awesome, insightful post & you brought awareness to people like me who've never heard of this. I think this is a great idea & a good start to helping one another because unfortunately it's become painfully apparent that our governments are doing nothing to help their own people, and it's us every day citizens that need to step up & start fighting for each other. I'm also resteeming this. Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56