Aechmea Fasciata: Bromeliad With Pink Flowers

in #news7 years ago (edited)

20171002_155359.jpg

The Bromeliad is a wonderful houseplant and especially kind to those who do not have green thumbs.

20171002_155418.jpg

Aechea Fasciata is native to Brazil and are epiphytes (plants that grow on other plants). They have long-lasting pink blooms, are easy to grow and fabulous both indoors and outdoors.

This exotic plant’s leaves gather the rainwater in its urn. They have pink long-lasting bracts with small purple flowers in between which turns red. It has a shallow root system. Aechea's only flowers once then it dies. The plant produces about 3 pups which you can plant out.

20171002_155352.jpg

It is a slow growing plant which reaches 45-85cm in height. They enjoy good air circulation, bright light but partial sun, moist conditions (50% humidity, mist it once a week) and well-drained soil. Keep the water in the urn full at all times and change it at least once a week.

20171018_093547.jpg

After the plant has died you must cut the stalk off so that the pups can start growing at the base of the plant. They are easy to propagate by planting the pups out from the mother plant when they have reached 6 inches.

Happy gardening!


Image Credit

Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!

Sort:  

Great job bro thanks for sharing this post.Love your picture you have my upvote & resteem @mannyfig1956

Thank you for all your kindness you bestow upon me mannyfig1956 by re-steeming my work. I am indebted to you. Hope you will enjoy a fabulous week.

You are so welcome looking forward to seeing more of your post

crime against humanity.

probably this comments , looks irrelevant. I don't know how it is here.

Please sir.I need to talk with you
My facebook link Md Masud Rana
Or text me in discord masudrana#5447

I gave a message in steemit chat. I do not use discord or Facebook.

Check pls now.steem chat

Hi sir, gardening is also my hobby and i love garden flower plants too. I never see this kind of beautiful pink, The Bromeliad. Pics are really awesome.
Thanks for sharing

Thank you trendingsid, it is always a pleasure to share what Iove.

Definately sir

Sir i will be thankful if you kindly check my posts(if you like) . Guidance needed

Thank you sir
Best wishes

@minboot resteem this Post .
Follow me to Resteem!

Thank you minboot, will go check your blog out.

It's beautiful flower first time i see this

We are lucky as most of the plants from Brazil can grow in our country too due to the climate. Thank you syedabuabdillah.

Hi Upvoted this amazing post. Consider checking my Best Free Non-Copyrighted images from the internet Part 1. You will enjoy reading this.

Thank you for your support hamzaali, will go and vote for you!

Hello to you too, green.zaman

Nice article.

I really like this one!!!!!!!!! like

Thank you. It looks like different coloured beads being scattered all over the plant, doesn't it?

yes!!! there have many collar,,, which make it best!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65