You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Big Tech Censorship Likely Affecting Their Stock Prices

in #news5 years ago

Part of what drew me to the Steem Blockchain (and Tsu, for that matter), was the collaborative nature of the community. It's a feature that is sorely missing from Facebook, Twitter, and the like. People are too destructive, even over mere disagreement.

I'm in agreement with you, though. As much as I loathe the phrase, "get woke, go broke," it's unfortunately become increasingly relevant. Pandering to any extreme (progressive, regressive, liberal, conservative, doesn't matter) will alienate the otherwise moderate, upstanding members of your community. Also, I notice an increasingly alarming push to silence those who disagree on sites like Twitter. I find the use of banning over "hate speech" to be the most troubling. Some of the people caught up in bans deserved it. As much as I hate what Alex Jones does, I don't believe he deserved to be banned. I don't believe @tftproject deserved to be deplatformed. Just because they're not aligned with your ideals doesn't mean they're inherently evil. Jones is an idiot, I won't argue against that in the slightest. But I'm seeing a whole lot of othering of people outside this highly insular clique.

It was this othering mentality that allowed Hitler to squash all of his opposition. It allowed him to build a ministry of propaganda to control the masses. And I see quite a few parties employing the exact same playbook. And that worries me.

Sort:  

Yes it's the same playbook indeed and it's very troublesome. It's a scary time when the only way to know you're safe is to be openly left.

Actually, the left utilizes mob violence, othering, and dogpiling. If anything, the left is almost worse, because they commit their atrocities under the guise of saving the world. It's the zeal of Arthas Menethil, led astray in the same manner.

That's not to say the right is any better. They employ much of the exact same tactics. Can you tell I'm an outsider?

I meant, it's safer for you as an individual to identify with the left to avoid being censored and attacked. Not in any way would I suggest doing so, I'm just saying it's a sad reality. I would not align with either side.

Ah, that makes more sense. Blend in, for the sake of not being a target.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87