You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cultural Appropriation is Becoming the New Segregation, SJWs Turning Into What they Hate

in #news6 years ago

I agree with everything about this post. We have fallen into the pitfalls of segregation under another name. And by exposing ourselves to another culture, to take in that culture's food, dress, and history, we expand our own borders and tear down our prejudices.

The Japanese have a saying that more or less translates to "the nail that sticks up gets hammered down." While you might equate that to the western "the squeaky wheel gets the grease," the exact opposite is true. It's actually more of a "when in Rome" mentality. Conformity above all else. You want to blend in, learn the mannerisms, and become part of the culture you visit. It's a mentality that I take with me on my international travels. I do my damnedest to learn at least a little bit of the language. I sample the food, learn the local etiquette, and try to blend in as best I can. To that end, I have met people and learned things I would not have otherwise. And I would do it again in a heartbeat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72