Steem Account Breach Alert! Isn´t it about time for 2-step verification for all transactions?

in #news6 years ago (edited)


A member named @ContestBuddy stole passwords from many members on March 23 and stole thousands of Steem and Steem Dollars.

I was one of the victims. Look at the attached image. ContestBuddy created his profile only 6 days ago and started attacking shortly thereafter. Then he quickly trasferred the stolen money onto his Bittrex account.

Does anyone know if his Bittrex account can be frozen?

I was using my main PW. I should have been using my Active Key. He was able to compromise my account.

Fortunately, Steemit allowed me to recover my account and I reset all my passwords.

Read the below guides to safeguard your Steemit account.
Thank you @firepower and @gtg for their priceless advice.

For account recovery:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@firepower/this-is-how-you-speed-up-your-steemit-account-recovery

For safeguarding your account:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@firepower/dummies-guide-to-basic-steemit-account-security-account-recovery-guide-must-read-for-steemit-users

https://steemit.com/steem/@gtg/memos-keys-and-passwords-balrogs-and-fields-of-despair-be-safe-almost-usd100k-wasn-t

Everyone please push for a 2-step verification for all transactions. This can be mitigated. Voice your opinion!!

Sort:  

very sad......You have to more careful. Dont accept any other offer. They will trap you.

hi can you connect with me on steem.chat. I looked at your account and I though I was hit bad but mine is small in comparison to what you lost. I am surprised you seem so calm about it. Please we need to do something about it. the account is owned by @steempowerup. so he created @contestbuddy with no post so that no one can downvote and then use it to to move the money around. And @steem allowed the account to be created and then gave it 14 steem power to stay here and rob innocent people. And no one is doing anything about it rather than blame us for losing our keys. They fail to mention that 2 years ago steemit was hacked and no one gave anyone their key. @davidk has the code showing how you can hack into someone account and steal their money. So this is NOT your fault. This is a NED SCOTT and STEEMIT issue that they know about and not fixing but yet sending out witnesses telling people to come here and invest.They are now in Florida promoting steem. But I will see how the state of Florida will feel about that!!!

You seem pretty knowledgeable. How did you find out about @steempowerup? BTW, were you using bots at the time of the hack? I was. Now I am afraid of using one. Still trying to figure out how he hacked into my account. Do you have the artcle link by @davidk? Thanks for sharing your insight. Keep in touch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66416.78
ETH 3082.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68