Account recovery should be a thing. User feedback wanted.

in #news7 years ago (edited)

I used 2fa on facebook and when my phone was lost i was able to send I.D and recover my account.

Im @egjoshslim

It seems to me if you make it impossible to retrieve an account you are pushing people away if that does happen. I really dont want to start again and try to earn what i have already earned.

Is there absolutely no way to recover? Surely that is something worth implementating. I put a lot of energy into my account and only lost my password as a result of a corrupted hard drive. Literally nothing i could do.

In retrospect i should have emailed myself the password. I would love a way to get my original account back. I imagine its happenedto many before me. I was around in the early days and its a huge shame if i cant access my original account.

Its been idle for almost a year now. I can prove without any doubt i am egjoshslim.!

Any constructive criticism helps make any site better for the user steemit has always had huge potential and as more and more use crypto the place for steemit will grow. I hope even if its in the future that i can gain access to my original account.

I doubt any whales would make this one equal to my original.

I went away for 10 months. I stopped writing post but always used steemit like a daily news website.

I missed you all!

Sort:  

There are differences in data recovery software and someone had mentioned this is quite good one:

https://www.easeus.com/datarecoverywizard/free-data-recovery-software.htm

I remember when my HDD broke, I noticed there while some program found almost nothing, another app found over 50% of lost data. It was impressive.

I just hate the fact I don't remember the name of the good software I used.

Apsu!!!! Hello buddy, thanks for all you asdistance buddy :) if the day ever comes where i can access the account you shall recieve steem ;) i used forensic recovery tools from dark markets and i recovered a ton of music and other files but no password :(

Ah well, luckily you still have the music if nothing else is good ;)

Also some old games. Forgot command and conquer red alert 2 was a thing. Wanna buy it for 150 steem ;) (joking) i think a time will come when recovery is possible. I pray :p

Wow, Red Alert 2. I would love to buy it, but I have already 2 of them and I don't have enough space for a third one. Otherwise I could have done it :'(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68