Canadian University Prof Under Investigation For Freedom Of Speech

in #news6 years ago (edited)

It’s 2018 and we face a free speech war every single day

Freedom-of-Speech-on-the-Internet-Myths-and-Misconceptions.png

Most recently, Professor of Psychology Rick Mehta falls victim and is now under investigation by Acadia University in Nova Scotia.

Canada’s new anti-free speech laws are nothing to shake a stick at and outrageous views that endanger the safety and security of students are not permitted, or so Professor Mehta was told in a letter he received from the VP of academic, Heather Hemming. He got another warning letter from his supervisor telling him to stick to the curriculum in class:

rick1.jpg

rick2.jpg

Mehta calls himself an independent thinker who offers different perspectives, he thinks certain policies introduced have created a victim mentality, that the pay gap is largely fictional and immigration policies need vigorous debate.

In today’s mindset, these views are automatically deemed as sexist and racist.

The professor has been accused by activists of having an opinion that “chooses to continuously belittle and oppose marginalized groups,”

In his defence, Mehta made a statement on his Twitter that says:

“For those of you following my story, let me be clear: I loathe both racism & violence in all its forms. What I DO stand with is the right of ANYONE to free speech, regardless of how reprehensible I may find it. It's really that simple”

Check out his lecture about free speech here:

Mehta also tweeted:

“I'm not exaggerating when I state that the entire education system in Canada is corrupt and needs to be rebuilt from the ground up. I'm willing to submit all of my course evaluations and the recordings of my Intro Psych 2 class as evidence that I'm open to diverse perspectives.”

So, what do we do to escape the attack on free speech advocates who dissent from the social construct?

Remove kids from the indoctrination camps? Revolt and potentially face more laws as a result?

Personally, I am happy to know there are still glimmers of hope like Professor Mehta in the Canadian education system who are willing to question the curriculum and tell the truth, it’s what the next generation deserves. In this Orwellian thought policed world, I salute him.

What are your thoughts about this? Leave them in the comments below!

Find Me On Twitter: https://twitter.com/leighstewy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69434.69
ETH 3685.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.28