You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Credit And Bank Cards Stop Working, Sending Masses Into Frenzy

in #news6 years ago

I recently wasted a 2 hour round trip because the store I traveled to had a power cut (unrelated to the Visa meltdown). The goods I wanted (& which nobody else was selling) were sitting just a few feet away from me. I wanted to buy them, the people in the store would have been happy to sell them, but the store was part of a large chain and no-one on site had the ability to say “let’s accept cash” or maybe even “let’s write down some credit card numbers”. Western society is screwed.

Sort:  

It's totally insane. Just a few years ago, if the lights went out, they could write a manual receipt and run your card through a manual imprinter and get a phone authorization, so things still moved along, only slower. Now, most stores are stuck when the power runs out. I am in Costa Rica and sometimes one network or other goes down. I remember the day when the largest network of ATM's went down. Luckily, I was near the bank so could take out cash the old fashioned way, but if not, I would have just been stuck. The world is becoming every more insane.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81