Time Spent On Facebook Drops 24%; Geek Squad Paid To Spy By FBI Since At Least 2008

in #news6 years ago (edited)

Geek 1.jpg

I have to admit, I hate social media.

This statement might (?) be somewhat ironic, given some people consider Steemit/Busy to be a "social media platform." Then again, the same goes for Reddit, and I think we all know the difference between Reddit and Facebook. When someone says "social media", you think of the latter, not the former, which is really more of a "user news and posts aggregator" than a true social media update with status updates and such.

So, it is with some degree of satisfaction that I must report that Facebook recently revealed that their statistic for "user time spent on site" dropped a whopping 24% since the previous quarter's data. This comes at a time where costs at Facebook are high, and Instagram's engagement numbers are also poor.

For anyone just tuning in, my main problem with Facebook is the fact that I truly believe that it does make people less happy. Overall, I see it as a negative for humanity, and user's data is monetized and sold for the "privilege" of being psychologically harmed. Add to that the many ways it can (and is) being used to snoop on you, by corporations, governments...you name it...and I think most of us in the cryptosphere can agree it is a net negative. 24% is a huge hit. I hope it is all downhill from here.

Speaking of snooping, Best Buy's Geek Squad continues to voluntarily report on its customers activities despite a lack of a warrant. Perhaps it is the existence of cash payments from the FBI which renders these silly constitutional concerns so easily circumvented.

On Tuesday, the EFF released records showing a long history of the FBI doling out cash payments for Geek Squad employees voluntarily narc'ing on customers in the absence of any warrants or investigations.

Geek 2.png

Remember, just because they get people with bad stuff (tm) from time to time does not mean this is a good thing. I do not recommend giving up your data to any third parties, and hopefully ALL crypto users know better than to do something like use the Geek Squad.

I can't wait to hear future news stories about a rogue Geek Squad agent installing Trojans to mine/steal cryptocurrency from customer's computers. It could be quite a heist.

Try SteemFollower today and get rewarded for every vote!
See my explanation of SteemFollower here.

Try SteemEngine and get rewarded for every follow or vote!

PAL Logo.gif

Join us at the Minnow Support Project! (click me)
We also have a Radio Station! (click me)
...and a 10,000+ active user Discord Chat Server! (click me)

Almost 75% of Steemians do not vote for witnesses, who secure the Steem blockchain! If you wish to make me your witness voting proxy, I will attempt to vote in Steem's best interest based on the information in my witness reports. You may set me as your proxy by clicking here and scrolling to the bottom of the Witness Voting page. Proxies are instantly revokable at any time, and witness voting does not use your voting power.

Proxy.png

Join the Steemit Poker League! (@spl)
World's Largest Cyptocurrency Freeroll Poker Site, open only to Steemians!

Sources: Google, EFF.org, Twitter, Facebook, Zero Hedge, YouTube
Copyright: Best Buy, Wikipedia

Sort:  

interesting ..
But now Facebook can truly express the community and its image
And the negatives that you mentioned are really present in our reality .. And this is what can save him
Thanks for sharing

Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat or Youtube are going to get replaced only because they do not offer rewards. Even now if they start offering it, they just can't manage that because we have tons of Spammers already on it. Whereas on Steemit, Dtube, Dlive and other platforms, it's hard to keep yourself on the top if you Spam or scam the people with crap posts and content.

The audience is intelligent and capable of producing high quality content on regular basis. People support each other's posts by upvoting, resteeming and commenting and on the other hand, Facebook makes everyone hate each other - Jealousy Prevails.

You are absolutely right @lexiconical in saying that this is the starting of the downfall of facebook. It is already dealing with the shitty user experience on feeds. It's not going to get better from here.

In short, I say- This is only ideal scenario.Reality is different

I'd have to agree. Adding rewards now to something like Facebook would probably require some serious moderation and would results in massive trolling I suspect, regardless of how it is done.

I was never willing to give away my time there for free.

everytime i get on facebook i just feel dirty. everyone is "friends" but hates each other and bitches about everything. it just makes me want to throw up in my mouth. Hell just this morning a guy was getting his ass reamed out by a bunch of blue lives matter bootlickers because he made a funny post about getting pulled over and called the cop Barnie Fief. God forbid. I shut that shit off and don't think i will go back.

I quit facebook October 2016 and it has been an amazing year and a half. BUT I went back to see how things were going and I've decided that trolling people is actually going to be quite fun now that the divide is so wide that there is a substantial amount of humor hanging around in the middle for the picking.

Firstly, epic picture.

I think people are sick of facebook, it became inundated with ads and videos to the point that you spend a lot of time actually finding the content you want. Also I noticed that it became a place for people to just post non-stop content about their kids day at school etc, a lot of people just aren't interested in 'Benny's first day at School'!

Steemit boat rising!

It’s good to see these spy portals losing ground.
Unfortunately the “see I aye” and the rest of the alphabet agencies won’t slow down on spying on the American people.

Yeah, it's probably too late to stop the spy agencies this way, but perhaps we can de-zombify some of the populace, at least.

The reaction and sentiments of the young towards cryptos have given me a lot more hope for the future. It seems that the millennials are not just SJWs and many actually use their brains.

I think that's a good idea. But I think some people need a lot of smart phone tools and an Internet environment.
Personally, I want my children and my children to get closer to the newspaper or the book than they do to the media environment. But isn't it the ability to control myself and control myself under any circumstances or circumstances?

Its pretty obvious that both FB and Reddit provide information, the difference is that the latter focus on news and events while the former is more about self information and gossip...

Good post I love your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67