OP/ED Death at Burning Man 2017: Do We Mourn Stupidity?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago

First of all I want to give my condolences to the Burners who were apart of this tragic event as well as the friends and family of Aaron Joel Mitchell. 

Yes it’s true people aren’t supposed to die at Burning Man, but people aren’t supposed to be stupid either. As a Burner of 2006 and 2008, I can tell you first hand that when the Man burns that fire is HOT! I don’t know if they still run around the burning remains but even getting within 3 feet of that bonfire is primal cause enough to keep ones distance. I don’t mean to sound insensitive, but from what I can tell in both of these videos: the guy is a recipient of a Darwin Award

Feel free to weigh-in as an BM2017 eyewitness or as a Steemian with sense enough not to hurl ones self into a heap of bright orange coals.

The complete story: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4848026/Man-ran-flames-Burning-Man-festival-died.html

Video #1

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Video #2

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.liveleak.com/view?i=a55_1504514985" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Sort:  

Unlike some arrogant self righteousness I see in a response (but thanks for honesty so we know what one is made of), I feel that you are on point for addressing condolences up front. Hearts were broken, someones world will never be the same. That's putting it lightly. Same time- awareness has value..of how far- and how much destruction that the abandon of self and self control is capable of of doing- to what's really sacred, and which is just taken for granted.

Perhaps one whom revels in the delights of voting for ones self :?) (not that there's necessarily anything "wrong" with that- and I hope you'll take that in good humor). You raise a valid point I think, whether or not it was intended: Maybe it takes one to know one, just a "stones throw away" and that part of my previous comment could have easily been left out, so thank you.

If you care to read through my previous Steemit posts, you will note that this is the most intelligent reply I have ever received. Your observations on arrogant , self-righteous remarks are mine and your input is valued. I have n idea what your bLog is about, but in me you have a new follower. We need more of your perspective in this community!

A single vote of confidence like this is an effective kick to the butt- to start posting on my blog! "My lack of content... Is my failure- as a blooger." Lol Niche focused or random.. 1st post :: :: Coming Soon :: ::

This is appalling.

I agree. The Burning of the Man is supposed to be the conclusion of festival celebrating radical expression. The burning of the Temple (I still call it the Mausoleum) is done as a catharsis for those who are mourning deaths of the previous months. It's appalling that such a disrespect of ones own life would be so carelessly squandered out of frivolity.

True, I was wondering whatever happened to the principle of 'civic responsibility'?

Whatever happen to the principle of 'Not being a dumbass and running into a damn fire when you're not a firefighter, a child's life is not in danger and there is no Rembrandt to be saved?'

Uhmph, yeah! I do not know either what happened to that particular principle.

How its possible

The festival has been occurring for 31 years, aside from heat exhaustion, heat stroke, frazzled nerves from logistics and the annual uptick that bay area clinics see with regard to venereal disease people have returned safely. Again it is possible for people to be stupid...just like at Disneyland or some sporting event.

In all honesty, I have no empathy for loser, hippie junkies at this drug attic orgy.

Have you been to Burning Man?

You don't have to be there to know what really goes on. How about you watch this, to gain a new perspective:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67