You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Multiple Studies Show Teen Suicide Rates Explode During School Year

in #news6 years ago (edited)

It is not easy for teachers, either. Respect for the teaching profession has experienced a downward spiral during the last 15 years or so at least in Finland where I live.

When I was in school I did not mind the learning part. What I did not like was being forced spend the whole day with a large group of other kids some of whom were real assholes I would not have spent one minute with voluntarily. In an institutional setting like that you learn few social skills applicable in real life. You learn suppressing your personality and adapting to peer pressure. There is nothing useful to that. I hated school and I would've loved studying everything on my own. I would probably have been able to graduate from the compulsory nine years of comprehensive school many years in ahead of schedule.

Sort:  

This is actually what many homeschooling and unschooling parents are discovering. When directing their children in a supportive environment that fosters creativity and engagement, their children seem to do much better. It's primarily anecdotal, but I've heard too many of these stories from people I trust and people I know personally who took that route to discount it.

My own experience exactly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68853.42
ETH 3708.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65